Private Pilot Glider with SEL addon rating.. questions about TMP

Started by FastAttack, May 14, 2009, 05:51:20 AM

FastAttack

Here is an interesting question

I am a Glider pilot and did my transition to single engine land this year.

Now i know that my PIC time in gliders + power counts toward my TMP and MP achievements.

but now the cross country comes into question.

I fly gliders and do  x-country flights with them, the definition for a glider cross country is a tad bit different from power aircraft as you are not required to land at a different airport. usually an out and return of 20 nautical miles is considered a cross country ( I gotta re-check the SSA and Practical Standards Glider)

Most of my flights are around 150 to 400KM ( aprox 95 to 250 miles) in distance. I have one flight that i went from Orlando to the Georgia/Florida border and back.

Question being that the requirement for TMP is 50 hours X-country. Would my glider cross country count towards the 50 hours required for TMP?

If they don't i will spending time building hours , as  i only have 25 hours in power. That would sure hamper my training.

Unrelated question to the above.. more about a form 5 glider checkride.

For those in Florida Wing or other wings  How hard is it to get a form 5 checkride in a glider if the glider is not located within your group.

I guess glider pilots are rare within Florida and CAP all together. Especially with the requirements for tow pilots to tow CAP gliders.

Thanks ,

Enrique

SJFedor

Well let's see....

CAPR 60-3 is going to govern your qualification as a TMP and MP. So, reading that...

Quote2) Current and qualified CAP pilot in accordance with CAPR 60-1, with at least 100 hours pilot in command time
including at least 50 hours of cross-country flying.

Are you a current and qualified CAP pilot IAW 60-1?
Do you have 100 hours pilot in command time?
Does that include at least 50 hours of XC time?