Legal Officer application denied

Started by RwyX, January 17, 2013, 07:05:27 AM

RwyX

I'm brand new to CAP but also a practicing attorney with 20 yrs experience, pilot as well.  I finished my Level I and applied for Legal Officer at the Squadron Level.  My App was sent to Wing.  My CO just told me (apparently Wing's reply) that there is no need and I should pick another track.  Not happy with that answer.  Who do I speak to next?

MSG Mac

Wing Legal Officer and the Wing Personnel Officer. a denial should be returned with a written cause for denial. I think I know why, but talk to them.
Michael P. McEleney
Lt Col CAP
MSG USA (Retired)
50 Year Member

LGM30GMCC

I suspect it is because at the squadron level there isn't that much need for a legal officer. As it is all legal officers represent CAP as a whole and I believe are supposed to work for the wing. I'd need to do some more research about that one. Squadron commander's cannot sign any contracts as it stands, and are to consult with Wing legal or national general counsel in a number of cases where legal officers come into play.

Eclipse

Welcome to CAPTalk and CAP.

The first issue was that a unit CC isn't even allowed to appoint a Legal Officer, that must be done by the Wing CC or higher.
See CAPR 111-1, which both you and your Commander should have reviewed before sending up the forms.  If was just updated
in Dec to align with the new governance structure.

Regardless, there is really no role for a Legal Officer at the squadron level - all contracts have to be approved by Wing or higher,
and other defined roles and duties are in representing and protecting the corporation, not the rank and file membership. So even if you
were appointed as one, your service and direction would come from 1-2 clicks higher then the unit, not something most unit CC's are going to
see as direct value.