Main Menu

promotion requirements

Started by Lt Buzzbear, February 07, 2010, 07:39:15 AM

Lt Buzzbear

So I am new to CAP, and I was wondering...
I was given 1LT because i was/am a paramedic for 10 + years.  All I need to complete my level 2 is a SLS course and 2 months additional time for my technician specialty (cadet programs).
so my question is this, will I be sitting around for 18 mos to get to my Capt rank, or does that initiate after my Level 2 is complete?

Thanks

flyguy06

You can go ahead and complete Level II, but you still have to wait the ime  in Gradde for promotion to Captain. Once you get your tech rating, you will revive the Davis Award though.

TACP

For promotion to Capt you will need to complete Level 2 and have 18 months Time In Grade as 1st Lt. So yes, sitting around for 18 months, while you complete the requirement for Level 2.

Reference CAPR 35-5 and 50-17.

CadetProgramGuy

To make captain you must have 18 Months Time as a 1LT.

IOW, what everyone else has said.......

IceNine

Quote from: Lt Buzzbear on February 07, 2010, 07:39:15 AM
So I am new to CAP, and I was wondering...
I was given 1LT because i was/am a paramedic for 10 + years.  All I need to complete my level 2 is a SLS course and 2 months additional time for my technician specialty (cadet programs).
so my question is this, will I be sitting around for 18 mos to get to my Capt rank, or does that initiate after my Level 2 is complete?

Thanks

Walk softly, LEARN the program, WORK on helping to make your unit better, ENJOY your time.

Forget about promotions, and awards, and all the other stuff.  By the time you are eligible for Captain you will hopefully have made a meaningful impact on your unit and will be deserving of the increased responsibility commensurate with your grade.

You have already received your compensation for your service to society, now it's time to earn your compensation for service to the Civil Air Patrol.