Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 17, 2019, 05:57:55 PM
Home Help Login Register
News:

CAP Talk  |  General Discussion  |  Forum Support  |  Topic: Anyone noticing a problem with IE 8 and the text fields?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Send this topic Print
Author Topic: Anyone noticing a problem with IE 8 and the text fields?  (Read 7146 times)
desertengineer1
Seasoned Member

Posts: 365

« on: July 11, 2009, 07:50:18 PM »

Just upgraded to Vista and IE8.  When I get down to the end of the default field space, the view is reset to the top after each character.  Pretty annoying...  Anyone else seeing this?
Report to moderator   Logged
MIKE
Super Moderator

Posts: 5,460
Unit: LANTAREA

« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2009, 07:56:17 PM »

Noticed it while forced to use Internet Exploiter.  Doesn't do this in Firefox though.
Report to moderator   Logged
Mike Johnston
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time With Silver Clasp
*
Posts: 30,277

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2009, 08:10:09 PM »

Ouch, "upgrade to Vista and IE8"  such language, please there are ladies on this board!
Report to moderator   Logged


DC
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,718

« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2009, 08:45:44 PM »

www.getfirefox.com
Report to moderator   Logged
AndrewA74
Recruit

Posts: 19
Unit: MER-NC-162

« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2009, 09:26:48 PM »

Yeah, I had this problem with IE8. The green button beside your refresh button fixes this. Just hit it once and leave it.
Andrew
Report to moderator   Logged
JC004
[Insert Cool Title Here]
Global Moderator

Posts: 4,516

« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2009, 10:01:39 PM »

Just upgraded to Vista and IE8...
"Just downgraded to Vista and IE8..."

The easiest fix for this can be found at www.getfirefox.com.

Report to moderator   Logged
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time With Silver Clasp
*
Posts: 30,277

« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2009, 10:50:56 PM »

That's awesome...
Report to moderator   Logged


PHall
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 6,685

« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2009, 12:41:13 AM »

You know guys, I know you're all a bunch of "Computer Snobs", but IE does what I need it to do.
And for me, the computer is just a tool. It's not my life!
Report to moderator   Logged
Pylon
Administrator

Posts: 5,141
Unit: NER-NH-038

Michael Kieloch, Marketing Communications & PR Leadership
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2009, 01:14:39 AM »

You know guys, I know you're all a bunch of "Computer Snobs", but IE does what I need it to do.
And for me, the computer is just a tool. It's not my life!

You're right -- the computer is just a tool, not our lives.  But when it's free, easy and relatively quick to "upgrade" your tool to one that's basically universally-accepted as working better on dozens of fronts - why not upgrade that tool?
Report to moderator   Logged
Michael F. Kieloch, Maj, CAP
Concord Composite Squadron, NH       
DC
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,718

« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2009, 01:23:06 AM »

You know guys, I know you're all a bunch of "Computer Snobs", but IE does what I need it to do.
And for me, the computer is just a tool. It's not my life!
I held that same attitude for a long time, and was very pleasantly surprised when I finally made the transition. And I'm definitely not a computer slob, I barely know how they work.

Really, it takes about 5 minutes total to download the software and import your settings from IE, which allows you to keep all your favorites, saved passwords, homepage, etc. It's really quite painless.
Report to moderator   Logged
AndrewA74
Recruit

Posts: 19
Unit: MER-NC-162

« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2009, 01:48:42 AM »

OK, I'll post the solution to this problem one more time, in case someone didn't see it for the ranting...
Quote
Yeah, I had this problem with IE8. The green button beside your refresh button fixes this. Just hit it once and leave it.
Andrew
Report to moderator   Logged
DC
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,718

« Reply #11 on: July 12, 2009, 02:10:38 AM »

OK, I'll post the solution to this problem one more time, in case someone didn't see it for the ranting...
Quote
Yeah, I had this problem with IE8. The green button beside your refresh button fixes this. Just hit it once and leave it.
Andrew
Wow, I didn't realize several people trying to improve your online life and generally lower your blood pressure was considered ranting...
Report to moderator   Logged
desertengineer1
Seasoned Member

Posts: 365

« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2009, 03:48:52 AM »

Yeah, I had this problem with IE8. The green button beside your refresh button fixes this. Just hit it once and leave it.
Andrew

Thanks!!  That puts IE into compatibility mode. 

I hate Vista.....
Report to moderator   Logged
AndrewA74
Recruit

Posts: 19
Unit: MER-NC-162

« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2009, 04:24:06 AM »

OK, I'll post the solution to this problem one more time, in case someone didn't see it for the ranting...
Quote
Yeah, I had this problem with IE8. The green button beside your refresh button fixes this. Just hit it once and leave it.
Andrew
Wow, I didn't realize several people trying to improve your online life and generally lower your blood pressure was considered ranting...
You were giving him an alternative, I was giving him a solution. Sorry if my words don't come across as intended.
Andrew
Report to moderator   Logged
MIKE
Super Moderator

Posts: 5,460
Unit: LANTAREA

« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2009, 03:38:25 PM »

The bigger question is, why are you "upgrading" to Vista now when you could have Windows 7 in October?
Report to moderator   Logged
Mike Johnston
PHall
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 6,685

« Reply #15 on: July 12, 2009, 04:27:49 PM »

The bigger question is, why are you "upgrading" to Vista now when you could have Windows 7 in October?

Vista seems to have become the Windows Me if the 21st Century.
Which is why I'm still running XP, it's "stable" and most of it's faults are known quantities.
Report to moderator   Logged
desertengineer1
Seasoned Member

Posts: 365

« Reply #16 on: July 13, 2009, 12:14:54 AM »

The bigger question is, why are you "upgrading" to Vista now when you could have Windows 7 in October?

Dell would not do anything otherwise.  Was stuck with Vista  :(

I considered downgrading manually to XP, but that would have been a major pain. 
Report to moderator   Logged
MIKE
Super Moderator

Posts: 5,460
Unit: LANTAREA

« Reply #17 on: July 13, 2009, 12:56:03 AM »

Dell Windows 7 upgrade program.  For small business too.
Report to moderator   Logged
Mike Johnston
C/MSgt Lunsford
Seasoned Member

Posts: 339
Unit: MER-WV-020

Martinsburg Squadron - WV Wing CAP
« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2009, 02:42:35 PM »

Just upgraded to Vista and IE8.  When I get down to the end of the default field space, the view is reset to the top after each character.  Pretty annoying...  Anyone else seeing this?

Happened to me while I was using Internet Explorer 8. That is why I switched to Google Chrome. Safari 4 also works.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2009, 02:56:33 PM by Lunsford » Report to moderator   Logged

Wright Brothers #13915
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time With Silver Clasp
*
Posts: 30,277

« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2009, 03:03:15 PM »

Dell Windows 7 upgrade program.  For small business too.

Ditto - Dell has been and continues to sell XP for an additional price - well worth it.  I wouldn't let anyone I love run Vista, or Windows 7 for that matter, if for not any other reason than XP still gets the job done in a much more resource efficient manner.

XP will be supported until 2014 in most flavors.

Sadly, both FireFox and IE are experiencing upgrade issues - I bounced to the most current FF and 1/2 my add-ons as well as some important Google Labs features didn't work.  Thankfully a reinstall of the previous version restored functionality.

If Chrome would gain a little more traction on the add-on front, I'd go there and never look back

Today its still #2 to FF, but far superior to any version of IE.
Report to moderator   Logged


Pages: [1] 2  All Send this topic Print 
CAP Talk  |  General Discussion  |  Forum Support  |  Topic: Anyone noticing a problem with IE 8 and the text fields?
 


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.15 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.061 seconds with 42 queries.
click here to email me