Let's upgrade the Scanner

Started by Smithsonia, September 25, 2008, 04:26:47 PM

Smithsonia

Right now scanner is the low man on the aircrew. I'm a pilot (not a CAP pilot, I'm still working my way through the program) I'm also a mission observer. I think that the current status of scanner as a trainee to MO is the wrong way to look at that position.

I'm assembling some great tools both optical and photo for the position. For instance, I've found that TV choppers use a rig inside their helicopters to take interior pictures of the reporter in the backseat. It is an inexpensive ($90-150) set up using suction cups. I think we can adapt this rig for the scanner's window and mount a binocular package. I know folks talk about binos make you sick. Using a large, but not stabilized Cellestron Binocular we flew around last week and I sat in back. We did lots of turns, had some bumps, I was behind the bino, I didn't feel ill. I saw much. (Cellestron 20X $100-$200)

At 20X you can see people, tell the color of their clothes, discriminate as to their comparative size, sometimes tell male from female. Cars are easy to ID. Models and years, new or old, things like that. The problem with that big binocular is holding it for long periods of time. The 7lbs gets heavier by the minute. That means as you get tired, it gets goofy to spot things. BUT<This TV helicopter suction cup on the scanner window with placement above that can be easily swung into position -- seems to have promise. The rubber of the suction cups keeps it rather steady. Once your hands are on the body of the binocular it settles right down. So you let the camera/bino rig do the heavy lifting, so to speak.