How to use CAPWATCH and Google Apps together to automate user management?

Started by aviator9417, June 28, 2014, 06:12:18 AM

aviator9417

So I saw a post where an ITO utilized CAPWATCH to automate their google apps users for their squadron.

I was wondering how I would go about doing this or what the other uses for CAPWATCH are.  I have never used it before.

Thanks.
Assistant Information Technology Officer
Chino Cadet Squadron 20
California Wing, Group 3
sq20.cawgcap.org

Tim Day

CAPWATCH is just the database, exported into comma-separate value files and zipped. To automate Google Apps, you need:

1. Google Apps Script that accesses a database and does something with the information.
2. A database somewhere that Google Apps Script can access like MySQL on a webserver (appropriately secured), or some other "cloud" service.

Your script runs queries on the database and builds user accounts based on that. You need to have - or have on your team someone who has - SQL and Javascript / Google Apps script aptitudes. 
Tim Day
Lt Col CAP
Prince William Composite Squadron Commander

JeffDG

Quote from: Tim Day on July 01, 2014, 06:45:08 PM
You need to have - or have on your team someone who has - SQL and Javascript / Google Apps script aptitudes.

I could start a side-business here...maybe have funds sent to TNWG...I don't like personally profiting from 501(c)(3)s!

Tim Day

Quote from: JeffDG on July 01, 2014, 06:48:39 PM
You need to have - or have on your team someone who has - SQL and Javascript / Google Apps script aptitudes.

I could start a side-business here...maybe have funds sent to TNWG...I don't like personally profiting from 501(c)(3)s!

Could be a whole other board on CAPWATCH where we could share scripts.
Tim Day
Lt Col CAP
Prince William Composite Squadron Commander

Tim Medeiros

Quote from: Tim Day on July 02, 2014, 05:19:32 PM
Quote from: JeffDG on July 01, 2014, 06:48:39 PM

Could be a whole other board on CAPWATCH where we could share scripts.