First Time Cadet Staff Tips

Started by gallaher432, July 07, 2011, 03:43:11 PM

gallaher432

It's my first time staffing an encampment, huzzah! I'm going to be a medic at the 2011 FLWG Summer Encampment at Ft. Blanding. Anybody have any tips that could help me? Like what extra things to bring, what to expect, that kind of thing?
Josh Gallaher, C/SMSgt, CAP
AFLT/CCS
SER-FL-432

HGjunkie

Gallaher! Hey man.

To bring? Plenty of hydration gear. Sunscreen, lip balm, and everything on the packing list. What to expect? A high intensity environment. Be prepared.
••• retired
2d Lt USAF

JC004

Lots of writing capability - Rite in the Rain notebooks are fantastic for that.  A laptop helps with cadets nowadays - at least in many positions.  Some may not really need it, depending on how a particular encampment's staff does things, distributes files, etc.  Flash drive is good.  Camera is good.  As cadet staff, we used to just pack everything on the cadet student/basic contraband list that wasn't illegal.   >:D  A clipboard, if not on the list, is a great thing to have.  Mountain Dew was always essential for PAWG cadet staff (including pocket size).  A basic sewing and uniform repair/cleaning/touch-up kit for all reasonably possible scenarios, if that isn't on the list.  Padlocks weren't on ours but I brought them anyway to put on certain things.  Depending on your position, some extra things for your cadets if you have them (say, extra cutouts).  Extra pens.  DUCT TAPE.  Back-up supplies can be important for yourself as well. 

HGjunkie

Quote from: JC004 on July 07, 2011, 04:28:19 PM
Mountain Dew was always essential for PAWG cadet staff (including pocket size). 

Monster and Red Bull cans are the staple here in FL. I'm gonna over-emphasize the fact you'll need to bring foot powder. Foot powder + good socks = Happy feet.
••• retired
2d Lt USAF

gallaher432

Quote from: HGjunkie on July 07, 2011, 04:11:12 PM
Gallaher! Hey man.