Flight simulator use for aerospace education

Started by NHAV8R, February 26, 2011, 10:47:40 PM

NHAV8R

Hello, I am new to CAP and built a nice and now portable flight simulator. The cadets love to fly it but I am looking for ideas of how we could use it for specific cadet lessons. I use a projector so I would like your ideas.
Thanks,
Steve
Steve Robbins 2dLT, CAP
Private Pilot SEL, Rotorcraft-Helicopter
USMC alumni

davidsinn

Quote from: NHAV8R on February 26, 2011, 10:47:40 PM
Hello, I am new to CAP and built a nice and now portable flight simulator. The cadets love to fly it but I am looking for ideas of how we could use it for specific cadet lessons. I use a projector so I would like your ideas.
Thanks,
Steve

Flight controls. Demonstrate how the movement of the surfaces actually move the aircraft.
Former CAP Captain
David Sinn

tsrup

My best piece of advice would to be go though the Aerospace Modules and put yourself in their shoes. 

If you were a cadet new to aviation, what concepts would be hard to grasp without seeing it or experiencing it.

Things like axis of rotation, mostly "yaw" are concepts that are foreign to someone who has never been in an aircraft. 

If you are using FSX, there "instruction" modules that would be a good addition to AE coursework.

You could also use the simulator to demonstrate the effects of weather on flight operations.

Just remember that the AE portion of the cadet program is not so much for "flight instruction" but more for familiarity with aviation concepts.

A simulator is a great tool for this, and I'm happy that you are willing to share your equipment with our program to help further these cadet's education.
Paramedic
hang-around.

NIN

Using a sim (ie. FSX or X-Plane) for AE is beneficial if you show cadets views you could not see "in real life" (ie. external views of the aicraft as you manipulate the controls and the control surfaces move, maneuver, or do things like lower the flaps..).