Paying For Encampments?

Started by RLM10_2_06, May 26, 2010, 05:02:23 PM

RLM10_2_06

So, a question; how on earth do CAP members normally pay for encampments? I ask because I'm working on joining CAP, and also joining USAC. However, broke college student = no money, and especially the upcoming OCS encampment (for USAC) in July I'm trying to attend would cost me over $800. I've heard tell in some circles about getting money donated from organizations and companies to fund an individual's expenses, but where would I even start? Who would be good to turn to? Is this even POSSIBLE? I'm a little stuck because cadets normally can get financial aid of some kind if they need it, but I'm joining both organizations as a Senior Member, so no luck there. Ideas?
-Senior Member, CAP
Former C/PVT, AROTC
Former C/Lt Col, AFJROTC
Former C/2LT, AJROTC

DogCollar

I'm not an expert in this, so take what I say with a grain of salt, but I believe that you would be ineligible to go to encampment this summer as you are not, as yet, a cadet.  For you to attend as a cadet you would need to have to have made certain achievement levels, which I don't believe you would have time to do prior to attending encampment.

I hate to be a wet blanket...but, as I said...take this with a grain of salt.
Ch. Maj. Bill Boldin, CAP

davidsinn

Quote from: DogCollar on May 26, 2010, 05:10:18 PM
I'm not an expert in this, so take what I say with a grain of salt, but I believe that you would be ineligible to go to encampment this summer as you are not, as yet, a cadet.  For you to attend as a cadet you would need to have to have made certain achievement levels, which I don't believe you would have time to do prior to attending encampment.

I hate to be a wet blanket...but, as I said...take this with a grain of salt.

He's a senior member...

You don't need to go to encampment at all as a senior member.
Former CAP Captain
David Sinn

capchiro