Best way to sew insignia is..?

Started by AvroArrow, September 26, 2009, 08:09:16 PM

AvroArrow

What are the best methods to sew insignia (particularly a C/2dLt insignia) to the BDU collar and hat?

Also, what other details may be of value? Things such as how much ultramarine should surround the insignia.

Fuzzy

Measure and Iron, then measure and Iron. Then sew it down once its correctly folded. All you should have to do is run a thread through it, not mess with alignig the edges or anything.

The proper measurement is 1/8th of an inch of blue around the white pip. For both collar and BDU cover insignia. But as an officer I would recommend looking it up in CAPM 39-1. Never know I might be wrong.

Biggest mistake I see are cadets who cut the insignia to make it 1/8 of an inch. Instead they should fold the blue and Iron it down. The alternative looks awful and it frays. The edges should be as straight as possible and they should be aligned with the bottom edge of the collar.

You can get it taken to a professional, and that might work. But only if you make it absolutely clear what the regs are. They may be good at what they do, but they don't know our standards.

If you screw up buy another set and try again. Don't just be a walking disaster until you make first lieutenant.
C/Capt Semko

AvroArrow

How should the insignia be sewn onto the cover? (Machine, sew-by-hand, etc.)
Where should the insignia be sewn on the cover? (On the visor, above a seam, etc.)

DC

1/2 inch above the brim, centered. I would recommend doing the hat by hand, I have found it to be easier. Definitely use a machine for the blouse though.

But, really, you are a Cadet Officer, you seriously need to crack open 39-1 and take a look-see. You should be able to find this information yourself. Also, while you are at it, take a look at CAPR 52-16 and 52-10.

AvroArrow

I've read the 39-1 back-to-back on many occasions. I'm using CAPTalk as a back-up to its inclarity.