Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 13, 2018, 09:29:10 PM
Home Help Login Register
News:

CAP Talk  |  Operations  |  Tools of the trade  |  Topic: Radio Power Supply
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Print
Author Topic: Radio Power Supply  (Read 5721 times)
♠SARKID♠
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,837
Unit: GLR-WI-204

Timmerman Composite Squadron - WIWG - CAP
« on: January 20, 2008, 06:47:17 PM »

How do you figure out what kind of power supply you need for a radio?
Logged

           Capt. Dan Turkal
..
                WI-204/CC
.
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 29,235

« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 07:25:31 PM »

Ask your DC, seriously, he probably have extras you could have.

If its a mobile radio (i.e. fr the car), it is almost certainly 12 volts.

If its not labeled as such, then search for the make and model online to find the power specification, and then get a power supply that matches the voltage and exceeds the current requirements.

What kind of radio?
Logged


♠SARKID♠
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,837
Unit: GLR-WI-204

Timmerman Composite Squadron - WIWG - CAP
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 07:35:31 PM »

Im going to be using a mobile to go back and forth between car and house and need the PS for in my room.  Its a Kenwood tk-730, and I can't find jack diddly squat on the internet.
Logged

           Capt. Dan Turkal
..
                WI-204/CC
.
_
Seasoned Member

Posts: 406

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2008, 08:04:18 PM »

If it runs off a car battery then you get a 12/13.8 volt DC power supply.  The power supply will have places where you can hook up wires just like you have to hook up the radio to the car battery.  You'll need a second set of wires, one for car, one for house.  The power supplies are pretty generic so that they can work with a wide range of radios.  They're made to act just like a car battery,  they're not usually made specifically for an individual radio.  They generally put out 13.8V instead of 12V.  I got mine from hamradio.com
Logged
SarDragon
Global Moderator

Posts: 10,463
Unit: NAVAIRPAC

« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2008, 08:23:52 PM »

Im going to be using a mobile to go back and forth between car and house and need the PS for in my room.  Its a Kenwood tk-730, and I can't find jack diddly squat on the internet.

Neither can I. Mobile radios are nominally 12 volts, although an auto electrical system actually operates at about 13.8 volts. If you have the manual, look at the spec for current draw during transmit. It's going to be somewhere around 10 A. My olde Neutec drew 9 A, and my current EFJ draws just over 12 A. The transmitter power output for the EFJ is 50 W, and yours is spec'd at 45 W, so the input power requirements are similar.

You'll need a "12 V" PS that exceeds your max power by at least one amp, so I would suggest, lacking any spec info, that you get a 15 amp PS.
Logged
Dave Bowles
Maj, CAP
AT1, USN Retired
Mitchell Award (unnumbered)
C/WO, CAP, Ret
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 29,235

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2008, 08:31:24 PM »

scanning...
Logged


Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 29,235

« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2008, 08:43:54 PM »

Wow - must be pretty old - can't find squat.
Logged


♠SARKID♠
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,837
Unit: GLR-WI-204

Timmerman Composite Squadron - WIWG - CAP
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2008, 11:33:33 PM »

Its a mid 90s model radio.  Kenwood doesn't even have it on their website anymore, and I even called the actual factory where they were built and they didn't have it in their databases either.
Logged

           Capt. Dan Turkal
..
                WI-204/CC
.
pixelwonk
Alt-F4 pilot
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,106

« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2008, 11:47:42 PM »

A.E.S. ...AKA, the candy store
Please tell me you've at least called them.

so I would suggest, lacking any spec info, that you get a 15 amp PS.

concur.
Logged
♠SARKID♠
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,837
Unit: GLR-WI-204

Timmerman Composite Squadron - WIWG - CAP
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2008, 12:01:06 AM »

They aren't open today, otherwise I would have.  If I waited till tomorrow, I'd have forgotten, just how I am.

Besides, I was too busy watching the Packers lose...
 :'( :( >:(

And while I'm thinking about it, do I need any equipment to hook the radio up to my truck?  Or do I just run wires from battery to radio plug?  BTW, I'm having a professional install it.  I just want to make sure I have everything he'll need.
Logged

           Capt. Dan Turkal
..
                WI-204/CC
.
SSgt Rudin
Seasoned Member

Posts: 291

« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2008, 12:13:07 AM »

They aren't open today, otherwise I would have.  If I waited till tomorrow, I'd have forgotten, just how I am.

Actually you would have to wait till Tuesday, tomorrow's a holiday.  ;)
Logged
SSgt Jordan Rudin, CAP
sardak
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,212

« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2008, 12:14:56 AM »

Link to photos and description of a Kenwood TK-730 installed in a Ford pickup.  The owner says it draws over 20 amps.
http://www.eurekaboy.com/f250/kenwood.htm

He has scanned the schematics and other documents here:
http://www.eurekaboy.com/tk730/

Also, one of us CAPTalkers (floridacyclist/Gene Floyd) owns one, according to this thread:
http://captalk.net/index.php?topic=140.msg12446

Mike
Logged
♠SARKID♠
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,837
Unit: GLR-WI-204

Timmerman Composite Squadron - WIWG - CAP
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2008, 12:31:08 AM »

Interesting, the heat sync on his is uber lots longer than the one on mine.
Logged

           Capt. Dan Turkal
..
                WI-204/CC
.
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 29,235

« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2008, 12:34:30 AM »

You may need a noise filter, and you have to be careful where / how this is connected.

Some newer vehicles prohibit the use of high-powered radio equipment and/or hook-up of same because it can pooch the internal computers.

If a pro is doing it, I would make sure he checks this but you're probably fine.

BTW - real men drill holes in their roof for the antenna!   ;D
Logged


♠SARKID♠
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,837
Unit: GLR-WI-204

Timmerman Composite Squadron - WIWG - CAP
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2008, 12:39:12 AM »

Smart men run the cable through the sliding glass rear window and stick some black foam padding in the extra space to keep the frost and rain out.  Thats how the CB is set up.
Logged

           Capt. Dan Turkal
..
                WI-204/CC
.
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 29,235

« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2008, 01:13:13 AM »

SEE-BEE?
Logged


♠SARKID♠
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,837
Unit: GLR-WI-204

Timmerman Composite Squadron - WIWG - CAP
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2008, 01:23:21 AM »

SEE-BEE?

Disclaimer: The use of a CB radio in my personal vehicle was for the sole purpose of determining how well a radio setup would work for me.  i.e - Antennas/coax, power draw, mounting systems, stereo interference, etc.  It was to lead to my eventual installation of a VHF radio.  I do not like nor endorse the citizens band, nor do I claim to be affiliated with users of said band.  I am not a candy bander, and hold a valid amateur radio license to prove my non-alliance with users of the citizens band.
Logged

           Capt. Dan Turkal
..
                WI-204/CC
.
mikeylikey
Banned

Posts: 3,755

« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2008, 01:38:19 AM »

Take it to RADIOSHACK.  The place is called RADIOshack for a reason!  I am sure between trying to sell you a cellphone and 10 billion AAA batteries they can look it up in some old Radioshack book.

RADIOSHACK!
Logged
What's up monkeys?
♠SARKID♠
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,837
Unit: GLR-WI-204

Timmerman Composite Squadron - WIWG - CAP
« Reply #18 on: January 21, 2008, 01:44:57 AM »

Take it to RADIOSHACK.  The place is called RADIOshack for a reason!  I am sure between trying to sell you a cellphone and 10 billion AAA batteries they can look it up in some old Radioshack book.

RADIOSHACK!

I like radioshack about as much as I like a chili pepper in my eye.  I only go in there as a last resort, and only if I know EXACTLY what I want, and I know that they have it.  And with the staff we have around here, they wouldn't have a flipping clue as to what to do about my situation, and would probably try and tell me that a nice Radioshack brand CB is what I want.
Logged

           Capt. Dan Turkal
..
                WI-204/CC
.
mikeylikey
Banned

Posts: 3,755

« Reply #19 on: January 21, 2008, 02:04:00 AM »

Quote from: ♠SARKID♠ link=topic=4108.msg79351#msg79351
And with the staff we have around here, they wouldn't have a flipping clue as to what to do about my situation, and would probably try and tell me that a nice Radioshack brand CB is what I want.

The last time I walked into a Radioshack I was looking for a Cable TV line splitter (a $3.99 item) and I somehow ended up walking out with a  Radioshack charge card, 4 packs of D batteries, a new cellphone, and a subscription to Sirius satelite radio.

That place has really gone down hill since the other big box electronic retailers opened up (best buy, circuit city etc).  I would actually try to avoid the place in the future, if I knew it wasn't the only place I can buy certain "parts".
Logged
What's up monkeys?
Pages: [1] 2  All Print 
CAP Talk  |  Operations  |  Tools of the trade  |  Topic: Radio Power Supply
 


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.498 seconds with 25 queries.