Uniform poll-- Aircrew Uniforms

Started by RiverAux, May 20, 2007, 02:48:59 AM

What uniform is worn most often by aircrews on missions (actual/practice) in your area?

AF Flight Suit
56 (70%)
CAP Flight Suit
5 (6.3%)
Gray pants/blue shirt
17 (21.3%)
BDUs (CAP or AF)
0 (0%)
Other (including gray pant/white shirt AF Service Dress, TPU)
2 (2.5%)

Total Members Voted: 80

RiverAux

I have been noticing for several years the decline in the wear of the AF style flight suit by CAP aircrews as well as the decline in any of the CAP flight suit versions and that more and more aircrews are wearing the gray pants/blue shirt combo.

Personally I think the reasons for this are easy to understand.  The primary reason is probably that it is more comfortable (in warm weather), cheaper, and more all-around useful than a flight suit.  I do not think it has anything to do with "anti-military" or anti-AF feelings. 

I've got some mixed feelings about this.  On the one hand, there have been a few times when there have actually been flight crews all in the same uniform -- a rarity in the past.  That increased "uniformity" is good for us.  However, they inevitable byproduct of the decline the wear of the AF or CAP "military" uniforms is a loss of our historic paramilitary image, which I believe is a bad thing. 

I believe it is California that requires NOMEX on all flights so those folks will probably be choosing Option 1 or 2.  (Lets not discuss that particular topic here).   

arajca

IMHO, the problem is many more aircrew are having to purchase their own flying uniforms because there are not as many available to be issued. With nomex flight suits costing $150+ (not including ebay, which many CAP aircrew members don't use, based on my experieince with them), they are looking at a significantly lower priced uniform.