Administration Officer File Duties

Started by Juice, October 02, 2015, 12:59:13 PM

Juice

I'm new to the DA position and I'm seeking advice on what hard copy files make sense in this digital age to maintain at the squadron level.  Looking to clean house. Any suggestions?

JeffDG

As absolutely few "paper" files as you can get away with.  Preferably the only time paper should exist is from the time received to the time it is scanned.

Juice

Thanks JeffDG. I agree, however are their certain forms, etc. that you are required to keep on hand such as CAPF 160 and 161s or if they are scanned and our people have access to them is that good enough?  What about if they are remote without Internet access?  Should they have hard copies in hand?

TheSkyHornet

Quote from: Juice on October 02, 2015, 02:52:50 PM
Thanks JeffDG. I agree, however are their certain forms, etc. that you are required to keep on hand such as CAPF 160 and 161s or if they are scanned and our people have access to them is that good enough?  What about if they are remote without Internet access?  Should they have hard copies in hand?

Common sense should always be applied. Ask yourself "What if..." If you think it's likely and serious enough to require a paper copy available at an immediate request, keep a paper copy.

If you feel you're going to need to print off a copy of a form, either have a cable/WiFi connection to a printer from a laptop/tablet, or have hard copies of blank forms. Chances are, you won't need to have hard copies of most forms accessible, so if you do scan them, just make sure you have speedy access to them (backed up on a flash drive/shared electronic network).

For health/medical forms, "When not in use, paper records must be secured in a locked container or file cabinet, and electronic records must be password protected," per CAPR 160-1.

"Copies, faxes and electronic submissions of these forms are acceptable alternatives to original documents. "