Clarification on Customs & Courtesies

Started by Cadet12354, June 05, 2015, 04:15:17 AM

Cadet12354

I realize that these questions have been partly covered in the past, but it was several years ago (things might have been updated since then), and they were not exactly answering all my questions.  If anyone wants to correct me on that, I would be happy to look at old threads for answers on some of these; I'm still learning how to use the search feature effectively.

Here is a list of things that I need clarification on.

1. Is the room called to attention for cadet officers?  This sounds like a no-brainer, but this was pointed out to me by another cadet a short while ago:
CAPP 151, Respect On Display, says this:
     "If an officer who is higher ranking than anyone present enters the room, the first person to notice commands, "Room, ATTENTION." If only senior members or officers are present, the first to notice the commander uses the more cordial, 'Ladies and gentlemen, the commander' instead."
     At first, I was thinking, "It says officer, without differentiating between cadet officers and senior member officers.  Therefore, we should assume that it applies to both."  The other cadet pointed out to me that when the manuals say "officer," they mean senior member officer.  Cadet officers are referred to as "cadet officer."  Then again, it says "If only senior members or officers are present...," so that makes me wonder if it might apply to cadet officers.  Yet again, it could mean, "When senior member NCOs and senior member officers..."  It could also mean, "When CAP senior members or military officers...."  Or, it could mean, "When senior members or cadet officers...."
     I understand that the pamphlet is not a manual and thus does not have the same wording, but does anyone have any insight as to which one this means?

2. Back to the quote from CAPP 151: