Civil Air Patrol, Should I Sign Up?

Started by rudder30, August 31, 2011, 07:31:50 AM

rudder30

Hey everybody,
I am an aspiring high school student with dreams of attending the United States Air Force Academy. I will be entering my junior year of high school this Thursday, and am looking forward to the school year. I am in my third high school, as my father is in the Military.

I am an "A" student who will be finishing up my Private Pilots License this upcoming October. I have plans to do quite a few extra Curriculars this year, but then again, became interested in the CAP. I live about 9 miles from a Squadron and have shown interest. My question is, with me turning 17 in October, and with 18 scooting off to college, is CAP worth it? I am aware of the requirements Cadets need to meet to fly for the CAP, and I would be more than happy to fly for them. The experience would be great, I just don't want it to affect my academics or high school plan In a negative way. Would joining the CAP be more of a burden considering my age? Would it be worth it? Would I be a rarity amongst the cadets, being placed in elements of younger ones?

I appreciate the help.

lordmonar

Well....you can't fly for us until you are 18.

As far as how benificial CAP would be for in prepping you for the USAFA....I think you may be starting a little late.

Question......do you have any JROTC time? 

Here is the rub.

As a new member you will be at the bottom of the heap.....being led by 12 year olds.
With out any JROTC time it will take you a minimum of 24 weeks to be SSgt Level...where you actually start getting some leadership experince. 

I highly encourage you to look into CAP....it can be a lot of fun....but I also caution you about what you can really get out of it as far as forwarding your goal of going to the USAFA.  At this point in the game you may want to just focus on your SATs and grades.

PATRICK M. HARRIS, SMSgt, CAP

rudder30