Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 22, 2019, 12:53:32 AM
Home Help Login Register
News:

CAP Talk  |  General Discussion  |  Forum Support  |  Topic: DNS problems
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Send this topic Print
Author Topic: DNS problems  (Read 3692 times)
raivo
Seasoned Member

Posts: 447
Unit: Migrant

« on: July 21, 2010, 03:41:05 AM »

Last week, I reconfigured my PC to use Google's public DNS servers (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4), at which point I suddenly stopped being able to access CAPtalk... I didn't put two and two together until tonight when I tried to figure out why CAPtalk had been "down" for a week, and discovered I could still access it by adding the site to my hosts file.

Code: [Select]
# nslookup www.captalk.net 8.8.8.8
;; Got SERVFAIL reply from 8.8.8.8, trying next server
Server:         74.208.8.251
Address:        74.208.8.251#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   www.captalk.net
Address: 69.64.32.225

Any ideas why? :o
Report to moderator   Logged

CAP Member, 2000-20??
USAF Officer, 2009-2018
Recipient of a Mitchell Award Of Irrelevant Number

"No combat-ready unit has ever passed inspection. No inspection-ready unit has ever survived combat."
whatevah
Administrator

Posts: 1,029

my personal website, yo!
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2010, 03:47:12 AM »

nope.  maybe you should have just used your ISP servers? ;)
Report to moderator   Logged
Jerry Horn
CAPTalk Co-Admin
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 29,653

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2010, 03:49:16 AM »

Why aren't you just leaving your DNS with the rest of DHCP and/or using the ones from your service provider?

(Beat me to it, but this should be good...)
Report to moderator   Logged


raivo
Seasoned Member

Posts: 447
Unit: Migrant

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2010, 03:52:38 AM »

Primarily because I got tired of Comcast directing me to "helpful" NXDOMAIN pages full of sponsored ads whenever I happened to mistype a URL. :(
Report to moderator   Logged

CAP Member, 2000-20??
USAF Officer, 2009-2018
Recipient of a Mitchell Award Of Irrelevant Number

"No combat-ready unit has ever passed inspection. No inspection-ready unit has ever survived combat."
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 29,653

« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2010, 03:57:07 AM »

Time to get a real ISP.
Report to moderator   Logged


raivo
Seasoned Member

Posts: 447
Unit: Migrant

« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2010, 04:04:49 AM »

My options here are Comcast or Verizon (not FiOS), which is comparable to choosing between drinking a glass of bleach or a glass of antifreeze.
Report to moderator   Logged

CAP Member, 2000-20??
USAF Officer, 2009-2018
Recipient of a Mitchell Award Of Irrelevant Number

"No combat-ready unit has ever passed inspection. No inspection-ready unit has ever survived combat."
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 29,653

« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2010, 04:07:37 AM »

Do you have Clear service in your area?
Report to moderator   Logged


JoeTomasone
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,661

« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2010, 06:46:26 AM »

I am having issues with Google's DNS trying to get here as well.
Report to moderator   Logged
Capt Rivera
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 639
Unit: NCR-ND-005

Grand Forks Composite Squadron
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2010, 01:44:01 AM »

Try OpenDNS...  you still get some adds on bad domains but it also fixes things like bla.cpm is auto changes to bla.com.

It does other nice things like keep you from getting to some "bad" websites... safe example is internetbadguys.com (demo, its safe to go)

anyway...

www.opendns.com
Report to moderator   Logged
//Signed//

Joshua Rivera, Capt, CAP
Squadron Commander
Grand Forks Composite Squadron
North Dakota Wing, Civil Air Patrol
http://www.grandforkscap.org
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 29,653

« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2011, 01:49:00 AM »

I'm bumping this because I'm still seeing slow refreshes, hangs, and other weirdness that looks DNS related to me.

I'm not using any open DNS servers, etc.  I use Chrome, and it looks like Chrome is being less tolerant than Firefox
with whatever this is.  When Chrome hangs, Firefox will show a loading wheel but will eventually come back to life.

I can open a new tab and hit any other site fast.  I see this on both my PC and my Xoom.  I would say one constant
is the ISP, except I see it when I am away from home or on my phone's mobile AP as well.

Assuming my account isn't being throttle to try and help people catch me before I earn my 4th star, there appears to
be something amiss.
Report to moderator   Logged


Pages: [1] Send this topic Print 
CAP Talk  |  General Discussion  |  Forum Support  |  Topic: DNS problems
 


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.044 seconds with 26 queries.
click here to email me