Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 23, 2019, 05:32:18 AM
Home Help Login Register
News:

CAP Talk  |  General Discussion  |  Forum Support  |  Topic: Login Cookie not sticking?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2 3  All Send this topic Print
Author Topic: Login Cookie not sticking?  (Read 7361 times)
a2capt
300,000th Post Author
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 5,089
Unit: pǝʇɹǝʌuı

« on: January 05, 2011, 06:40:25 PM »

Ever since the announcement about the DNS change, the login cookie that used to stay forever, now is acting weird.

Yes the (x) box is ticked.

I open the page after several hours and I see at the top "Hey, a2capt, you have xxx messages, .. " so I know I'm logged in. But when I click "show unread posts since last visit" I get presented with the login screen instead, and it says "Guest" at the top now.

I've not run into this with other SMF sites.
Report to moderator   Logged
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time With Silver Clasp
*
Posts: 30,026

« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 06:57:44 PM »

I had similar weirdness yesterday.
Report to moderator   Logged


EMT-83
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,899

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2011, 06:58:28 PM »

Me three.
Report to moderator   Logged
jeders
Global Moderator

Posts: 2,194

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2011, 07:04:45 PM »

I had similar weirdness yesterday.

Ditto. Haven't had the problem today though.
Report to moderator   Logged
If you are confident in you abilities and experience, whether someone else is impressed is irrelevant. - Eclipse
jimmydeanno
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 4,155
Unit: ǝnƃoɹ

« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2011, 07:10:58 PM »

Mine's fine.
Report to moderator   Logged
If you have ten thousand regulations you destroy all respect for the law. - Winston Churchill
Spaceman3750
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 2,692

« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2011, 07:16:49 PM »

I've had that problem too. I just had it happen to me before typing this post.
Report to moderator   Logged
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time With Silver Clasp
*
Posts: 30,026

« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2011, 07:25:11 PM »

Happened just now...
Report to moderator   Logged


a2capt
300,000th Post Author
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 5,089
Unit: pǝʇɹǝʌuı

« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2011, 07:31:03 PM »

Okay, good. At least it's a "Lets blame Safari" problem. ;)
Report to moderator   Logged
JeffDG
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 3,179

« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2011, 07:50:26 PM »

Okay, good. At least it's a "Lets blame Safari" problem. ;)
Chrome too.
Report to moderator   Logged
SarDragon
Global Moderator

Posts: 10,712
Unit: NAVAIRPAC

« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2011, 08:13:30 PM »

Firefox here. And it's been a problem longer than just the past two days.
Report to moderator   Logged
Dave Bowles
Maj, CAP
AT1, USN Retired
Mitchell Award (unnumbered)
C/WO, CAP, Ret
RiverAux
Too Much Free Time Award

Posts: 10,979

« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2011, 01:22:07 AM »

Was a problem on my firefox yesterday and today only.
Report to moderator   Logged
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time With Silver Clasp
*
Posts: 30,026

« Reply #11 on: January 06, 2011, 01:52:15 AM »

Several times today.
Report to moderator   Logged


GTCommando
Seasoned Member

Posts: 255
Unit: GLR-OH-288

Pathfinders Cadet Squadron
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2011, 02:08:10 AM »

It's happened to me the last two days.
Report to moderator   Logged
C/Maj, CAP                 
Alpha Flight Commander                     
Pathfinder Composite squadron
Earhart #15889

"For the partisan, when he is engaged in a dispute, cares nothing about the rights of the question, but is anxious only to convince his hearers." -- Socrates
a2capt
300,000th Post Author
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 5,089
Unit: pǝʇɹǝʌuı

« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2011, 03:02:21 AM »

It just did it again,  for laughs and craps, I changed the '60'  to '9999' and then ticked the box.

On one ancient SMF install it used to do that when selected.

the thing is, on first load it shows that login is valid, and it's only when links are used from that page. It's not cache content either, as this site always refreshes, and looking at the contents of the window, it is obvious it's current data.
Report to moderator   Logged
whatevah
Administrator

Posts: 1,029

my personal website, yo!
« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2011, 04:32:16 AM »

It's a problem several forums are reporting in the past couple days.  I made a couple changes, maybe one of them will help. :)
Report to moderator   Logged
Jerry Horn
CAPTalk Co-Admin
a2capt
300,000th Post Author
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 5,089
Unit: pǝʇɹǝʌuı

« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2011, 04:40:15 AM »

It just did it again, this time it started out as "guest", so perhaps that was because something changed. We'll see.
Report to moderator   Logged
whatevah
Administrator

Posts: 1,029

my personal website, yo!
« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2011, 05:31:01 AM »

yes, I reset all of the cookies.
Report to moderator   Logged
Jerry Horn
CAPTalk Co-Admin
a2capt
300,000th Post Author
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 5,089
Unit: pǝʇɹǝʌuı

« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2011, 08:48:48 PM »

Well, it did it again during a reply to a post, using the quick reply. The (Post) button gave me the login screen. Twice in succession.
Report to moderator   Logged
a2capt
300,000th Post Author
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 5,089
Unit: pǝʇɹǝʌuı

« Reply #18 on: January 07, 2011, 03:36:48 PM »

* a2capt placards the (X) Keep me logged in function as INOP again.
Report to moderator   Logged
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time With Silver Clasp
*
Posts: 30,026

« Reply #19 on: January 07, 2011, 03:54:58 PM »

Ditto.
Report to moderator   Logged


Pages: [1] 2 3  All Send this topic Print 
CAP Talk  |  General Discussion  |  Forum Support  |  Topic: Login Cookie not sticking?
 


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.086 seconds with 27 queries.