DF'ing in the airport

Started by Walkman, September 09, 2010, 01:28:29 PM

Walkman

Just getting started on my UDF quals. On some training this past weekend, we were in a small airport trying to find the trainer ELT. I was trying to get a reading between the rows of hangars and obviously the signal was bouncing around and giving a false reading. Knowing that many ELT missions will be in a situation like that, how do you determine which hangar the signal is coming from?

Be kind, I'm a newb here...

JC004

I've done this many times.  I have a bunch of finds this way.  It's a simple answer - body shield with a scanner.  Turn the scanner to the ELT frequency, hold it close to your body, and turn about in small amounts from different angles.  You're blocking the bounce with your body.  You will need to look where the potential bounces are coming from and get gradually closer to the possible hanger/aircraft. 

A dying ELT with fluctuations in the signal strength with make this harder because you are listening for fluctuations while you pivot your body, following the strongest signal.  In that case, it takes a bit more experience and practice.

Last time I did this, there were two groups - one with an old LPER, one with the new unit and I found it faster with the scanner.

You can also put a little rubber duck antenna on an old LPER unit instead of using the big antennas.  That is why carrying one of these little antennas was part of my standard UDF kit.

EMT-83

As the signal gets stronger on the scanner (or VHF portable) you can step down the frequency to reduce receiver sensitivity.

N Harmon

1. Set sensitivity such that you are barely picking up the signal.
2. Start moving. If you lose the signal, you're moving in the wrong direction.
3. As you get closer and the signal becomes strong, return to step 1.
NATHAN A. HARMON, Capt, CAP
Monroe Composite Squadron

a2capt