Sheriff Aero Squadron

Started by flyguy06, January 23, 2007, 03:33:11 AM

flyguy06

I saw ris somewher eon this thread. What is it and how can I find out more info on it? I did a search on yahoo and came up with some good stuff. But I would like to know a little more.

sandman

MAJ, US Army (Ret)
Major, Civil Air Patrol
Major, 163rd ATKW Support, Joint Medical Command

flyguy06

The sites I saw were mostly out of California. They seem to all be volunteers. I am a police officer and am loking for an aviation unit with airplanes. All of the depts over here have only helicopters. 

This Aero Squadron thing loks good except for the factthat they are all volunteers.

sandman

You're correct. California is the only state that I've looked into. San Bernardino County SO has some very active aero squadrons. We do have helo's too. The aero squadron has many members or Civilian Volunteers (CV's) who bring in their own aircraft.

The CV's wear a modified sheriff's uniform or the regular uniform (plus weapon) if they have a reserve commission. California requires POST certification prior to commissioning. So, those of us who don't have the time to attend an academy (full or part time) will wear the modified uniform.

We're very active in supporting SBDO SO, lots of sorties.

I haven't looked into programs in other states. I'm sure you can make some contacts and find out what's in your local area.
MAJ, US Army (Ret)
Major, Civil Air Patrol
Major, 163rd ATKW Support, Joint Medical Command

JohnKachenmeister

Volusia County, Florida uses a light amphibian called the Aventura II (Manufactured nearby, in Rockledge, FL) as well as helicopters.  Volusia County has Daytona Beach in it, so if you get hired there to fly the amphibians, let me know.  I may need a name to drop if I get caught during "Bike Week."
Another former CAP officer

flyguy06

Quote from: JohnKachenmeister on January 23, 2007, 11:29:04 PM