Cadet Conduct on Social Media?

Started by Heavy Flying Guy, June 28, 2014, 06:06:37 AM

Heavy Flying Guy

So it's obvious that I'm new to CAPtalk, but I have a question. Has anyone else seen a cadet on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, etc; whose conduct didn't seem appropriate, especially when posting pictures of themselves in uniform? How should this be dealt with?
"We...are the CAP! We'll always save the day! And if you think we can't, we'll always find a way!"

lordmonar

Bring it to the attention of the cadet's (or senior member's) leadership.
PATRICK M. HARRIS, SMSgt, CAP

abdsp51

Why do I feel I know whom he's talking about.

GroundHawg

A cadet from a nearby squadron was relieved as cadet commander due to his postings on FB. Screenshots were sent to the wing commander, and within 24 hours he was done. A good lesson for all members to learn is that anything posted on FB/twitter/instagram/snapchat etc.... can and will be used for/against you. 

tht1gurlflightsarg

Yes, I have definatly seen that alot. Just be mindful of what you post because yes, it can be used against you and you need to kinda be an example. If you choose to do so, you could bring it up to the person and tell them whats what and all that.
Eat your veggies. drink your milk. dont do drugs. look both ways before crossing.

Have a nice day.

Nipahoj

Greetings all,
I know this topic has been stale for a while, but I wanted to add the following:

Nobody should accept a printout or a screenshot of ANY Social Media post or chat as evidence of wrongdoing.  I recently discovered cadets in a unit who installed a FB app (I won't mention its name), but the app allows a user to create a fake conversation, post or tweet among anyone who has friended you (The app can access your friends list).