Cleaning Metal Grade Insignia

Started by titanII, June 02, 2011, 12:35:22 AM

titanII

I was going over my uniform tonight, and I noticed my metal grade insignia are a bit dirty. I've never done it before so do you have any suggestions on how to clean them?
Thanks
No longer active on CAP talk

Eclipse

I would suggest simple soap and water with a tooth brush.

You've got to be careful with that stuff since most of it is a low-quality pot-metal, especially cadet insignia and the wrong cleaner or too hard a brush will
ruin it.

"That Others May Zoom"

manfredvonrichthofen

Wet soft rag, and then dry the rank. To get it to shine again, some turtle paste wax on a Q-tip works great. Let it dry for about five minutes and then rub it off with a dry Q-tip, and it will look like a shinny new car.... but don't let it dry too long or it will turn sandy and then scratch your rank.

titanII

Quote from: Eclipse on June 02, 2011, 12:56:52 AM
I tried warm water, then soap and a toothbrush, then toothpaste and a toothbrush. I got the last one from google, and it made the insignia really shiny, but didn't remove any "dirt". I'm starting to think that maybe the "dirt" is actually tarnish or scratched off paint. In which case I don't want to use any severe cleaner, for fear of removing the paint.

davidsinn

Quote from: titanII on June 02, 2011, 01:47:20 AM
Quote from: Eclipse on June 02, 2011, 12:56:52 AM
I tried warm water, then soap and a toothbrush, then toothpaste and a toothbrush. I got the last one from google, and it made the insignia really shiny, but didn't remove any "dirt". I'm starting to think that maybe the "dirt" is actually tarnish or scratched off paint. In which case I don't want to use any severe cleaner, for fear of removing the paint.

Can you post a picture so we can take a look?
Former CAP Captain
David Sinn

titanII

Quote from: davidsinn on June 02, 2011, 01:54:59 AM
Can you post a picture so we can take a look?