Thinking of joining, but have a few questions

Started by SWMcCaig, June 14, 2016, 02:20:22 AM

SWMcCaig

I am 50yoa and married, and am seriously considering joining my local CAP chapter. I have 12 years of law enforcement experience, and completed 25hrs of training in a C152 before getting married (no longer current, and probably will not resume). My main concern is time. I now work for the US Postal Service, and the only day I am guaranteed off is Sunday.....I am interested in serving as a scanner/observer, but not sure if this is even feasible at my age, and with my time constraints. Just by reading, I'm pretty sure I understand what is required to JOIN, but not sure what roles seniors can fill, and what is required of them as far as time commitments (especially if in an aircrew capacity). Any insight that can be provided would be a huge help. Thank you.

Eclipse

Do you work nights?  Most of CAP happens during the evening, and if you have Sundays off, a lot happens then as well.

Some things will be on Saturdays, but that shouldn't be a limiting factor. 

Your best bet is a discussion with the local unit(s) in your area to see what they are doing and how their
training is scheduled.  If you get days off during the week, some occasional opportunities may be open to you that
aren't for most other members.

"That Others May Zoom"

SWMcCaig

No, I work days....usually from about 0715 to about 1745 or 1800. Sunday is an off day every week, plus one "rotating" day off during the rest of the week. As far as I know, the only way to take off at any other time is if you have accrued any leave time, so not sure how that works exactly. How do most seniors juggle full-time jobs and squadron responsibilities/missions, especially if aircrew?

Ozzy