Building the Team?

Started by Aviator, September 25, 2013, 06:01:50 PM

Aviator

Hi everyone! This is my first time on this site, so please forgive any blunders. :)

I'm the first element leader in a flight that is supposed to be the second best in the squadron. There are 8 cadets in the flight, most of which are Airmen, and the highest ranking (besides flight commander and flight sergeant, of course) being myself. Unfortunately several of the cadets seem to be forced to be there, with horrible attitudes, while two others just goof off and don't pay attention. Last night was our most recent meeting, and the flight commander was trying to teach the cadets columns. What with the goofoffs and bad attitudes, we barely made any headway at all. In fact, four cadets from the flight below us came in and showed us all up to the point of embarrassment.

When we were given a small break, I discussed with the flight that our performance wasn't good enough, and asked who wanted to be better than the other flight. I KNOW that is not the point of CAP, but I felt that we needed a tangible goal at the moment. Please don't flame. Anyway, 6 out of 8 hands went up. One of the cadets who didn't raise his hand smirked at me like I was an idiot and the other had a very bad attitude.

The flight commander is wonderful, but I don't think his teaching methods are strong enough. He's being nice, and the cadets aren't paying attention. He's given me permission to have the cadets arrive early next meeting so I can drill with them a little.

There are several cadets who are motivated and want to be better. I feel like we're not working as a team, but floating around by ourselves and accidentally butting heads.  So I'm planning on doing a couple of team-building exercises too - something that will help them bond and make them want to work together.