nurse officer tech rating

Started by 8416w, July 16, 2014, 12:53:50 PM

8416w

I am a new nurse officer (RN-BSN), and I need assistance in finding information about how to achieve my tech rating for level 2.

Thank you

arajca

LSThiker

There is no Health Services specialty pamphlet.  Years back, NHQ stated that the award of the rating in health services was up to the commander and generally followed a 6 months, 1 year, 18 months timeframe.  However, that guidance has been removed and replaced with the "we are working on a specialty track".  Do not hold your breath though.  The recommendation to create a specialty track was made in 2004.  In 2011, the committee "approved the specialty track", but in April 2011, it was reported the track was under revisions.  No reports on the progress have been since that I am aware of.  Quite frankly, I do not see the current Chief Medical Officer or even the last few seeing it as a priority. 

For health services officers, you are not required to complete the Senior Member professional development tracks for promotion.  It is strongly recommended, but not required.  If you want to complete the tracks, it is recommended to follow it in another specialty (CP, safety, admin, etc) as well. 

Ultimately, it is up to your commander and wing commander regarding the guidance. 

8416w

Thank you for the information.  For clarification, I will not be able to receive a "nurse officer" tech rating that will count towards my level2? I have been approved to hold the HSO nurse officer position by the commander.

LSThiker

Quote from: 8416w on July 16, 2014, 01:33:40 PM
Thank you for the information.  For clarification, I will not be able to receive a "nurse officer" tech rating that will count towards my level2? I have been approved to hold the HSO nurse officer position by the commander.