Posse Comitatus and "AUX OFF"

Started by Sgt. Savage, May 30, 2007, 12:23:17 PM

Sgt. Savage

Given recent discussions about CAP members carrying firearms and such, I'm curious regarding how our "Part Time" status with the USAF affects our ability to assist LE and carry firearms. It seems to me that before we debate the idea of carrying firearms, we need to discuss the legal aspects of firearms carry. Does Posse Comitatus still apply when we're not on AFAM's?

JohnKachenmeister

We've speculated on this numerous times, on this and some former forums.  The consensus seems to be that if we are not on an AFAM, we are not a part of the USAF, and therefore not subject to the PCA.  CAP regulations have not been changed, however, so we still must conduct operations as if we were subject to PCA.

There is, however, NO official determination of this, and I am not a lawyer.

But I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night!
Another former CAP officer

LtCol White

At present, the Posse Commitatus is undergoing a major revision due to many of the issues arising from Hurricane Katrina. I have a copy of the latest proposal in a report for congress. PM me with a fax number and I'll be happy to send it out. Sorry, don't have an electronic copy.  For those who want to research and find it it is the:

CRS Report for Congress- The Use of Federal Troops for Disaster Assistance: Legal Issues by Jennifer Elsea. Order Code RS22266
LtCol David P. White CAP   
HQ LAWG

Admiral, Great Navy of the State of Nebraska

Diplomacy - The ability to tell someone to "Go to hell" and have them look forward to making the trip.

Dustoff

Jim

Nick Critelli

Here's the situation: