What does it take for you to get to fly a CAP plane?

Started by Nomex Maximus, April 26, 2009, 10:20:54 PM

Nomex Maximus

Recently, due to job reasons I have been traveling around the country on business - and taking my CAP activities with me. Being a pilot, I have been looking into what it takes to be able to get to fly a CAP airplane at the places where I have been. It seems that a lot of people in CAP have a very hard time getting access to the CAP planes. What do you have to do in order to go fly your squadron's / wing's airplane?

For us here in Michigan, if I wake up Saturday morning and look out the window and see good weather, I can say to my self, "Gee, this looks like a good day to go fly the CAP plane". I then go downstairs, log onto WMU and see if the plane is available. If it is, (and it usually is) I then book a few hours, put on my funny CAP clothes and go to the airport. I open the hangar, preflight the plane, pull it out and call an FRO on the cellphone and tell him I will be flying for a while. Then, I go fly.

It seems from visits to other squadrons, that MIWG's situation is unusually easy. Other wings seem to make scheduling time in the airplane, or even getting Form 5'ed to be very difficult - darn near impossible. What are your experiences? Is it as easy for you to go fly as it is for me?

Nomex Tiberius Maximus
2dLT, MS, MO, TMP and MP-T
an inspiration to all cadets
My Theme Song

sparks

Each state has it's own system of CAP aircraft reservations and FRO pilot releases. WMU isn't universally used for reservations. Some problems to solve would be;

First, where are the aircraft? There are databases that in theory identify aircraft locations. The database isn't 100% accurate. Next, how do you get onto the airport and into the hanger. Gate access codes, combinations or keys are necessary. Next, what FRO will be used and how will that person verify the qualifications of a pilot from a different wing.