Main Menu

Random First Aid question

Started by hollyritzman, September 09, 2015, 10:30:56 PM

hollyritzman

I am working on putting together a first aid kit and with that started the conversation about a trauma bag for our squadron. While discussing this the question arose, if we have an AED do we also need to have EPI on hand? what about an EPI pen in case of allergies? where does CAP in general stand on this? and I realize the answer will be no if you have no one trained but what if we have trained medical professionals as Senior Members in our Squadron? I am pretty new to all of this and I am the first Medical professional the squadron has had so these are all new questions for all of us.

arajca

Epi pens are usually a prescription. IV/IM epi is a drug and requires proper training AND medical direction to use in the field. It is generally used by paramedics (EMT-P). You'll need to research your state's requirements and what level of risk your seniors are prepared to assume. Also, Epi has expiration dates. Then there is the matter of proper security for the drug. It is really not worth stocking unless you have a strong sense you'll need it frequently, even if you can legally administer it.

AED does not need epi. AEDs are made for the vast general public to use successfully and without injury. The general public would have no idea how to use epi.

If you get a trauma bag, remove and hide the cervical collars.

SARDOC

I'm not sure how the discussion transpired that went from having an AED to having Epinephine (Epi) on hand.  If the Purpose of having the Epi for resuscitation, I would say no.  That is well beyond the scope of anybody when acting as part of the Civil Air Patrol.  Epinephine in an Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) scenario is a great thing to be administered as soon as possible but by those with the training.