Main Menu

FT-817 for HF

Started by CAP.is.1337, December 20, 2008, 04:29:44 AM

CAP.is.1337

In addition to recently earning my ACUT and a callsign, I'm also a relatively new Ham operator. I already have my VHF options pretty much taken care of, and I'm ready to take the next step.

I've decided on an FT-817ND for my first HF radio for the main reason that its the only amateur rig that can be used legally for CAP. (My budget is very limited right now, and I can't really afford a Ham rig in addition to a dedicated CAP HF radio.) Is there anyone else here who uses one for CAP? What kind of issues do you have with the limited power, and what do you use for antennas and tuning?
1st Lt Anthony Rinaldi
Byrd Field Composite Squadron – Virginia Wing

Earhart Award: 14753
Mitchell Award: 55897
Wright Bros Award: 3634

♠SARKID♠

I've considered getting one of these to make a manpack for field HF use.  It would be nice if it was a little more than 5W.  If you're trying to do any distance work, you may have some trouble.  The sunspots just aren't in season for low power DX.

JoeTomasone

5 watts will be a challenge; you will have to make up in antenna (quality, choice, location) what you won't have in RF output.   Many CAP members cut dipoles for their primary Wing frequency and use a tuner when needed; the problem with them is that they need to be pretty darn high off the ground, which is a challenge for many members.   You might want to consider investing in a vertical HF antenna that covers the range that we operate in.

♠SARKID♠

There is the option of a linear amplifier if you want to go that route.

Major Lord

What frequencies would you try for use in a 5 Watt HF backpack radio?

Major Lord