Art vs. science of time in grade

Started by UH60guy, August 01, 2013, 01:16:26 PM

UH60guy

I'm new to this Professional Development Officer stuff as the CDS, and there's not a squadron PDO for me to train under. I would like to hear some thoughts on how time in grade is applied with regard to Flight Officer promotions, with an eye for helping me keep my CC and myself out of trouble.

We have a few of our Senior Members that show up maybe once a month. Normally that hasn't been my big problem, but two weeks ago, one shows up asking about his promotion. I haven't seen this guy in about two months, but he's right- he met all the requirements, and the time in grade window was met for FO. He also mentioned had he made FO at the right time, he would also meet the TIG requirements for TFO.

But here's the rub where I'm curious on how this is applied. Is this more of a "science" where the requirements get applied without discrimination? Or do we apply the "art" and use judgement? Is X months time in grade usually interpreted as X quality months where you're actively participating? I've seen him maybe for ten weekly meetings during the last 9 months, how does that affect time in grade on his way to FO and TFO? He's requesting us to back date the date of promotion to FO and TFO (to exactly when he met the TIS requirement) because based on what timeline he should have been on, he would be eligible to make 1st Lt faster after he's 21.

I understand the letter of CAPR 35-5 paragraph 7-4- he meets the requirements. I also understand that he hasn't really participated much during the nine months in question for time in grades. What kind of leeway do we have on this? My main concern is looking after my CC- I don't want him to get his wrist smacked for either sitting on a promotion or pushing one up for someone too early. I just want to make sure we're doing the right thing- but I'm too new to CAP to make a good recommendation to my CC based on what I've seen in the past.