What HF Comms are going on?

Started by Nomex Maximus, July 06, 2007, 01:28:46 PM

Nomex Maximus

Hello all,

I am a new senior member a pilot / scanner / getting tagged as the new comms officer for our squadron. I am also a ham operator (which is why I am going to be the new comms officer). Some questions that you might be able to give me guidance on:

1) Are the HF freqs active ? Is it worth putting up an HF antenna and listening or checking in?

2) If HF is active, what radios can be used? I have a number of HF rigs that have been modified for MARS (can operate out of the ham bands). Can I still use them for HF work or are the new regs going to require me to purchase new radios?

3) What direction should I go radio-wise if I want VHF in the car? Again, I have MARS capable radios that I could use. Where do I buy a radio from?

4) Does CAP interoperate with MARS? Does MARS even still exist?

Since becoming a pilot two years ago I just have had very little time or interest for ham radio, so I haven't put up antennas. That and moving around a lot for the past ten years I would actually have to go put up an antenna to check if HF is active and I don't want that exercise if it isn't.

Thanks in advance,

John Babrick
SM GLR-MI-190
Grand Rapids, MI  area

Nomex Tiberius Maximus
2dLT, MS, MO, TMP and MP-T
an inspiration to all cadets
My Theme Song

arajca

Your best source for info is your wing director of communications. They'll have all the info you need and more.

There is a CAP Communications Yahoo group also. It's here.

DKruse

Just because your radio equipment is MARS capable doesn't mean you can use them for CAP.  In fact, if it is just modified amateur radio gear, you can't use it in the vast majority of cases.

CAP radio equipment must meet NTIA standards.  There is a website that lists NTIA-compliant VHF and HF gear.  Go to https://ntc.cap.af.mil/comm/index.cfm and look at the Equipment Compliance Lists.

Dalen Kruse, Capt., CAP
St. Croix Composite Squadron