Identifying Mission Staff positions

Started by Hawk200, November 29, 2006, 07:24:01 PM

Hawk200

I'm a newly appointed ES officer for my unit (only three weeks!) and got asked a question (which of course, I don't know the answer to yet) about identifying mission staff at a site.

How do you folks out there do it? Do you wear ID tags (i'm talking like the little plastic holder with a snap clip) or does anybody use an armband? This is a horse of a different color to me, and I'm am completely in the dark. Is it really even necessary to identify the various positions?

Just wondering.. Thanks for any help.

TankerT

There are lots of ways.  Most common on missions I go to are the different areas are labled with signs posted on walls and doors.  (I.E "Air Operations"... etc...)

Hint... the Communications Unit Leader and Mission Radio Operators are probably the guys sitting by all the radios...  ;)

/Insert Snappy Comment Here

Hawk200

Quote from: TankerT on November 29, 2006, 07:27:35 PM
There are lots of ways.  Most common on missions I go to are the different areas are labled with signs posted on walls and doors.  (I.E "Air Operations"... etc...)

Hint... the Communications Unit Leader and Mission Radio Operators are probably the guys sitting by all the radios...  ;)

I imagine that's kind of a given. However, does the Incident Commander really need an ID badge, or an armband saying who he is?

SJFedor

Welcome to the party, I just got blessed with becoming the ES and ops officer myself.

I've seen it a bunch of different ways. PA Wing HQ has an ops room with different cubbys for different mission staff officers, I've seen some wear ID tags or armbands or hats with the position on it, and I've seen others not do anything except answer when someone goes "Who's the [insert staff position here]"

All depends on how well you know the people you work with, how big the mission is, etc.