Main Menu

Thinking about joining CAP

Started by urserywr, August 17, 2013, 02:26:48 AM

urserywr

I am thinking about joining the CAP, I am a EMS helicopter pilot (civilian job) and a UH-60 Instructor Pilot in the Army National Guard. I know that the CAP doesn't have helicopters (they should..) however, I just earned my commercial (+instrument) fixed-wing add-on and am looking find a way to stay current and use my new skills to use. With getting an add-on I only have about 120 hours airplanes, 85 PIC.

Soooo.....what would be the process to become a CAP pilot? Does it cost anything to get qualified? How long does it take? Once I'm qualified, doesn't it cost to take the plane out? If so how much? Anyway, any info would be great, thanks!

Bayareaflyer 44

The first and most important step is to find a unit that suits you, and that you feel that you can contribute to.  Once you join, you will most likely be asked to perform a unit level position/specialty track, so be sure to reach out to their professional development officer to get the details of what is available.

Once you get established, and completed all your Level 1 requirements, then it would be OK to start working on your CAP pilot rating.

You will fly with a CAP examiner.  The aircraft you fly is dependent on where you are at, and in many cases all that is available could be a C182, so be sure to have your high performance endorsement.  If you have no G1000 experience, then your best bet is to get CAP pilot privileges in a round-dial, and get transition training.

For your "form 5" ride (the name of the CAP form that lists the required evaluation maneuvers) you will need to be able to demonstrate to the PTS standards of your highest rating.  In addition to all the normal knowledge required for a FAA checkride (FARs, AIM, weather, etc...) you are required to follow the below steps:

1.   Become familiar with CAP regulation 60-1, CAP Flight Management. You will be verbally quizzed on its contents