Glider training

Started by exarmyguard, January 05, 2010, 11:01:13 PM

exarmyguard

I would like to be a glider pilot through CAP.  I'm a senior member in Massachusetts and want to know how to earn it, on the cheap via CAP.  Peace.

Eclipse

Are you currently a glider-rated pilot?

"That Others May Zoom"

Flying Pig

Your Wing should have a Glider Program coordinator if you have one.  You would need to contact them to find out the availability.  I would say most likely, you will need to be a glider pilot first.  As most Wings don't have glider programs for Senior Members.  I am a glider pilot, and CAWG only has one glider.  An S-33.

If you are a glider pilot which Im assuming your not, you just need a Form 5.  CAP instructors cannot charge for their services.  So finding one who will donate that kind of time could be rough.  But contacting your Wing Glider coordinator is your first step.  Your Sq Commander  or the Wing web site should be able to get you that.

SilverEagle2

Quotewant to know how to earn it, on the cheap via CAP

Then you are out of luck.  >:D
     Jason R. Hess, Col, CAP
Commander, Rocky Mountain Region

"People are not excellent because they achieve great things;
they achieve great things because they choose to be excellent."
Gerald G. Probst,
Beloved Grandfather, WWII B-24 Pilot, Successful Businessman

Eclipse

Quote from: Flying Pig on January 05, 2010, 11:15:19 PM
Your Wing should have a Glider Program coordinator if you have one.  You would need to contact them to find out the availability.  I would say most likely, you will need to be a glider pilot first.  As most Wings don't have glider programs for Senior Members.  I am a glider pilot, and CAWG only has one glider.  An S-33.

Except in very rare circumstances, CAP instructor pilots aren't allowed to provide primary instruction to seniors.  I know that's true for powered, but that applies to gliders and balloons, too.  Right?