Firearms Training

Started by Desert Dawg, September 05, 2006, 08:26:07 PM

Desert Dawg

I have read the regs on firearms training and they are very vague.  I understand it must be approved in writing by the wing commander and taught by law enforcement or NRA instructors.  I am a NRA instructor but the regs do not say what program to use.  If anybody has done this in the past  please contact me.  I have lots of questions. ???
                                                                           Thanks,
                                                                            Ken Smith, 1Lt. CAP
Ken Smith, Major. CAP
Tucson, Az

Chris Jacobs

One senior in our squadron used the training publication called "The Basics of Rifle Shooting".  It is published by the NRA.  I hope that helps some.
C/1st Lt Chris Jacobs
Columbia Comp. Squadron

MIKE

For courses of fire, or just a familiarization?

http://www.nrahq.org/education/training/marksmanship/index.asp

High power or light rifle would be good.  Cadets can wear the medals on the service uniform when they qualify.
Mike Johnston

c/LTCOLorbust

So if a cadet was to do all the work for the NRA metal out side of CAP, so not at a BME but on their own time. Can they still wear the metal?
1Lt. Joshua M. Bergland
Yakima Composite SQ.
WA Wing

arajca

If they have the documentation, they can wear the medal. As with any award, they need to provide a COPY of the documentation to the unit before wearng the medal.

RogueLeader

WYWG DP

GRW 3340

MIKE

Quote from: RogueLeader on December 15, 2006, 07:11:42 PM
what about Officers

Quote from: CAPM 39-1 Table 6-2.11 Junior National Rifle Association Marksmanship Badge (Earned in accordance with NRA program.) (Cadets only) Men: with the top edge centered on the left pocket flap of the service coat or shirt when worn as an
outergarment. Women: in the same position as specialty insignia (above the ribbons and beneath the wings).

Emphasis added.