Main Menu

Crash Site Gear

Started by SARMedTech, August 22, 2007, 01:42:47 PM

SARMedTech

This may seem out of left field, but does anyone wear any specialized gear when approaching or entering a crash site or actually entering the aircraft wreckage (which I know we have to treat as an investigation scene).

Ive responded with fire and rescue with two different agencies to  two different a/c crashes and even though I am an EMT who is not a fire fighter (yet...just started in HazMat) i wore turn out gear, helmet, etc. In both cases I was the lucky SOB who had to go in an check the bodies for "presumptive signs of death." In the most recent situation, I wore SCBA given that there was a fire on impact and the subsequent conditions of the bodies. That drove home why cadets dont approach crashes.
"Corpsman Up!"

"...The distinct possibility of dying slow, cold and alone...but you also get the chance to save lives, and there is no greater calling in the world than that."

IceNine

Flagging tape and a camera.

Take pictures before I approach the site just in case there is any undesired/accidental disruption.

And not specific to a crash site but I also carry a 6 inch ruler for clues found during a search, I lay that next to the item and take a picture 
"All of the true things that I am about to tell you are shameless lies"

Book of Bokonon
Chapter 4

JohnKachenmeister

latex gloves.

Small flashlight.

Camera is good.  Take photos on approach, and of the panel as you found it.
Another former CAP officer

SJFedor

I carry latex gloves and some surgical masks I got from the hospital that have the plastic eye shield attached for PPE.

Disposable cameras work better sometimes. I'd rather snap shots, and when the FAA or NTSB shows up, just hand the camera to the lead investigator and say "these are pictures of when we arrived". Take backups with digital, but I'm not handing over MY digital to the feds!