Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 26, 2017, 05:00:48 AM
Home Help Login Register
News:

CAP Talk  |  Operations  |  Tools of the trade  |  Topic: Garmin Virb Camera Mounts
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All Print
Author Topic: Garmin Virb Camera Mounts  (Read 4760 times)
Spaceman3750
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 2,604

« Reply #60 on: September 13, 2016, 11:21:31 PM »

I thought FEMA didn't want processed photos? Turn the GPS in the camera on, take the photos, and upload them to their online system. No watermarking or imprinting of the north arrow.
Logged
The moment any commander or staff member considers themselves a gatekeeper, instead of a facilitator, they have failed at their job.
I can't fix all of CAP's problems, but I can lead from the bottom by building my squadron as a center of excellence to serve as an example of what every unit can be.
LSThiker
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,690
Unit: Earth

« Reply #61 on: September 14, 2016, 12:51:41 AM »

I thought FEMA didn't want processed photos? Turn the GPS in the camera on, take the photos, and upload them to their online system. No watermarking or imprinting of the north arrow.

If a group asks for unprocessed JPEGs, it really is an oxymoron.  JPEG photos are processed to predetermined color saturation, white balance, tone curve, sharpening, and color space and they are compressed.  Sorry, it always humors me when I hear people say that.  It is similar when I have people ask for a digital photo at 300 dpi.   
Logged
etodd
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 766

« Reply #62 on: September 14, 2016, 07:44:34 AM »

I thought FEMA didn't want processed photos? Turn the GPS in the camera on, take the photos, and upload them to their online system. No watermarking or imprinting of the north arrow.

Correct for FEMA.  All the post-processing we did before using Robogeo to batch process files to add the North arrow, the lat/longs dates, locations etc. on the viewed imaged are not wanted now. Simply choose the desired images and use the FEMA uploading software. Much easier now.

The AP Mission Task Guide still mentions all of that, and new APs are I guess still expected to learn the Robogeo system, in case customers other than FEMA do desire certain data to be watermarked again.
Logged
MS - MO - AP - MP
JeffDG
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 3,157

« Reply #63 on: September 14, 2016, 08:59:31 AM »

I thought FEMA didn't want processed photos? Turn the GPS in the camera on, take the photos, and upload them to their online system. No watermarking or imprinting of the north arrow.

If a group asks for unprocessed JPEGs, it really is an oxymoron.  JPEG photos are processed to predetermined color saturation, white balance, tone curve, sharpening, and color space and they are compressed.  Sorry, it always humors me when I hear people say that.  It is similar when I have people ask for a digital photo at 300 dpi.   
I like to mess with people who ask for unprocessed photos by sending in FITS format.
Logged
LSThiker
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,690
Unit: Earth

« Reply #64 on: September 14, 2016, 10:18:04 AM »

I thought FEMA didn't want processed photos? Turn the GPS in the camera on, take the photos, and upload them to their online system. No watermarking or imprinting of the north arrow.

If a group asks for unprocessed JPEGs, it really is an oxymoron.  JPEG photos are processed to predetermined color saturation, white balance, tone curve, sharpening, and color space and they are compressed.  Sorry, it always humors me when I hear people say that.  It is similar when I have people ask for a digital photo at 300 dpi.   
I like to mess with people who ask for unprocessed photos by sending in FITS format.

I can open them up.  Well simple ones, not complex files :)
Logged
JeffDG
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 3,157

« Reply #65 on: September 14, 2016, 10:54:21 AM »

I thought FEMA didn't want processed photos? Turn the GPS in the camera on, take the photos, and upload them to their online system. No watermarking or imprinting of the north arrow.

If a group asks for unprocessed JPEGs, it really is an oxymoron.  JPEG photos are processed to predetermined color saturation, white balance, tone curve, sharpening, and color space and they are compressed.  Sorry, it always humors me when I hear people say that.  It is similar when I have people ask for a digital photo at 300 dpi.   
I like to mess with people who ask for unprocessed photos by sending in FITS format.

I can open them up.  Well simple ones, not complex files :)
Seeing as my minimum photographic aperture is 8", and I prefer to use 14" class aperture, I have lots of FITS sitting around!

How are you supposed to do photometry on JPEG?
Logged
LSThiker
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,690
Unit: Earth

« Reply #66 on: September 14, 2016, 11:35:23 AM »

Seeing as my minimum photographic aperture is 8", and I prefer to use 14" class aperture, I have lots of FITS sitting around!

How are you supposed to do photometry on JPEG?

Nice.  The same method when people do densitometry on saturated image areas <ugh>.  :) 
Logged
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award
***
Posts: 27,837

« Reply #67 on: September 14, 2016, 12:10:57 PM »

Seeing as my minimum photographic aperture is 8

Heh, you wish...
Logged

"Effort" does not equal "results".
The contents of this post are Copyright 2017 by eclipse. All rights are reserved. Specific permission is given to quote this post here on CAP-Talk only.

LSThiker
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,690
Unit: Earth

« Reply #68 on: September 14, 2016, 12:36:39 PM »

Seeing as my minimum photographic aperture is 8

Heh, you wish...

Why?
Logged
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award
***
Posts: 27,837

« Reply #69 on: September 14, 2016, 12:40:14 PM »

Seeing as my minimum photographic aperture is 8

Heh, you wish...

Why?

Meh, most guys over-estimate their aperture length by about 1/3.
Logged

"Effort" does not equal "results".
The contents of this post are Copyright 2017 by eclipse. All rights are reserved. Specific permission is given to quote this post here on CAP-Talk only.

JeffDG
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 3,157

« Reply #70 on: September 14, 2016, 01:18:38 PM »

Seeing as my minimum photographic aperture is 8

Heh, you wish...
Well, I have worked with a 1.8m aperture a couple times, and the data there came out as FITS too.  It was a pain because you had to get there a couple hours before taking shots to hook up the liquid N2
Logged
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award
***
Posts: 27,837

« Reply #71 on: September 14, 2016, 01:25:32 PM »

((*sigh*))
Logged

"Effort" does not equal "results".
The contents of this post are Copyright 2017 by eclipse. All rights are reserved. Specific permission is given to quote this post here on CAP-Talk only.

Fubar
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 611

« Reply #72 on: September 14, 2016, 01:40:44 PM »

((*sigh*))

Don't worry man, I got you. Even giggled slightly.
Logged
Brit_in_CAP
Seasoned Member

Posts: 356
Unit: MER-VA-002

« Reply #73 on: September 15, 2016, 09:52:11 AM »

((*sigh*))

Don't worry man, I got you. Even giggled slightly.
+1...brightened my day..  ;)
Logged
SarDragon
Global Moderator

Posts: 9,998
Unit: NAVAIRPAC

« Reply #74 on: October 01, 2016, 03:15:50 PM »

OK, enough of the Ranger Corps crap. Clean it up or lock it up.

ETA: Just removed them. Nothing to see here.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 07:39:22 PM by SarDragon » Logged
Dave Bowles
Maj, CAP
AT1, USN Retired
Mitchell Award (unnumbered)
C/WO, CAP, Ret
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All Print 
CAP Talk  |  Operations  |  Tools of the trade  |  Topic: Garmin Virb Camera Mounts
 


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.402 seconds with 20 queries.
click here to email me