Flying Verticals With The Garmin Virb

Started by etodd, May 24, 2016, 04:08:11 AM

etodd

I'm not seeing many threads here on the Virb system. Are not many using it yet? More localized?

How are you flying it? I just flew a drill mission for the State's EMA simulating us photographing a couple of 30 mile stretches of two highways that would be hurricane evac routes. Cessna 172 with camera under the right wingtip. 1500 agl at 90kts and photos every 5 seconds. So the big question is how to keep the highway semi-centered in the photos? If its very long straight stretches of Interstate, the pilot, seeing 2-3 miles ahead can pick a point on the cowl and do a fair job of it. But once the road starts turning there is just no way. We came up with two solutions.

A) Ours is a G1000 and with me as AP in the right front seat (I'm also a pilot). If I'm looking nearly straight down out the right widow and can just barely see the edge of road, its centered in the photo. If I try to talk the pilot through it we wind up with early or late turns and not at rates needed. So ... the pilot puts in Heading mode ... and I then fly the road using the heading knob on the MFD while looking down. The PIC is watching all else, including traffic and making sure the auto-pilot is keeping us at 90 kts and 1500 agl. This system worked very well 90% of the time. The hardest part being the smaller two lane highway that has much tighter turns than Interstate of course.

B) I brought along my GoPro with strut mount pointed straight down. Using the GoPro app on my iPad and yoke mounted in front of the pilot gave us a live view, very closely approximating what the Garmin Virb was seeing. Made it all so much easier.

Bottom line  imho - We need two Garmin Virbs mounted side by side. One taking photos and the other for live view to fly by.  Or .... switch altogether to GoPros and use a live view system like even cheap drones have.

Maybe others have developed better ideas?