College Choice: Senior or Cadet

Started by C/Arose, October 23, 2013, 03:27:13 PM

C/Arose

Hello all,

To cover my bases, on a quick search, nothing related turned up. Therefore,

My situation is as follows: I joined CAP at almost 16 in Sophomore year. I'm now a Chief, applying to colleges and all that fun stuff. I am from New Hampshire, and my top choice is Texas A&M University, where I am almost sure that I will be an Automatic Academic admit with some decent scholarship aid. The problem is that within the next year, I have to make that much-maligned decision of whether to stay a cadet or go to the dark side as a Flight Officer.

On the cadet side, I'd be able to continue staffing events like Encampment. I would have time to get my Spaatz, if I so chose, and could remain friends with some of my fellow cadets.

However, as a Flight Officer, I'd probably be able to go back to Encampment as a TAC Officer. I would be able to begin my Senior career per-se attending things like TLC and getting specialty tracks in order. On a less serious note, I'd enjoy the novelty of being the rare Flight Officer. And above all, moving two thousand miles seems like a good time to make that sometimes hard break from Cadet to Senior.

To those who've been in this position before or know more than I, I'd appreciate your advice.

Thank you very much,

V/R

ALEX L. ROSE, C/CMSgt, CAP
Cadet NCO-IC
NER-NH-010
C/CMSgt Alex L. Rose
Seacoast Composite Squadron

Jaison009

Get your Spaatz. It will mean so much more to you then becoming a FO and you will appreciate the CP side of the house so much more later on. I would stay a cadet until 21 and then transition. Plenty of time to become a SM.

Elioron