Main Menu

Joing as a Lieutenant?

Started by Bear Walling, October 06, 2008, 04:17:57 PM

Bear Walling

I have been out of CAP for years, and currently on a committee to reactivate a squadron in my area now that I am home from Iraq. Someone was telling me that since I am a certified Firefighter and EMT-B that I can join in as a Lieutenant. Is there any truth in that or are they just trying to make me feel better about being the second in charge and Emergency Services Officer?

arajca

You can join as a 2d Lt because of your EMT-B cert. If you want an easy promotion track, sign on as Health Services Officer - promotions are based solely on length of service as HSO.

Bear Walling

As generous as that sounds, I think I will stick with the Emergency Services track. I like a challenge... ;)

Flying Pig

Basically, in CAP, everyone joins as a 2Lt.

DNall

You can do both with VERY little extra effort. Basically you just have to stay listed as the Sq HSO & you'll get promoted based on time served versus having to do lots of professional development stuff that's not related to what you want to do - that's the way I understand it anyway.

Now, is that a good idea to miss out on those courses that are there to make you more educated and effective as a CAP member/staff officer? Probably not, but it's your call.

Also, you said you'd been out of CAP for years. If you were previously an adult officer, we should be able to bring you back at your previous grade. If you were a cadet officer then we should be able to jump you up based on that achievement. Other then that, yeah you're tracking the right route for promotion based on the EMT.

Bear Walling

I was just your basic run of the mill cadet back in the day... And I might serve a dual role as ESO and HSO if asked. But I would rather earn my promotions because I earned it, not just because I have sat in the seat the longest. ;D As I stated, I like a challenge. Plus a couple professional development courses never hurt anyone.