Info Wanted: PAWG 1970 Command Change

Started by Therapst, April 20, 2011, 09:05:08 PM

Therapst

I'm a brand newbie here so please excuse me if I do something unintentionally wrong. 

I was a very active member of PAWG from 1963 through 1970.  In March of that year, long-time wing commander Colonel Philip Neuweiler was replaced in a somewhat controversial manner.  I would really like to know more of what became of him and his wing staff after that change in command.  I would particularly like to know about his full-time director of administrative services, Lt Col Finn Venditto, and COCS Commandant Lt Col Rupert Much.  Any and all information on this event would certainly be appreciated.

Thank you very much.

flyboy53

Boy are you pulling on the memory strings.....really fuzzy ones....

That era in the Pennsylvania Wing was really something. You thought you were really part of something big and Colonel Neuweiller ran the wing the same way. He would sometimes really go off on a limb with missions he wanted the wing's personnel to do...things like Ranger teams and Hawk Mountain really flourished under his command.

I still think that's the best of the wing patches...

Was there one specific issue or instance, I don't remember now. I know he suffered from cancer. I think, however, he bucked the Region Comander, Colonel Lyons, on something. I don't remember what. I do remember things like him showing up at a wing commander's call with a machine gun under a blanket or lobbying to have the CAP perform missions like exposing enemies of state....that wasn't long after the McCarthy era if you get my drift. There were two active Air Force bases in PA at that time, Olmstead and Greater Pitt, so wing operations were centered around Middleton, and Harrisburg.