Flight Officer / Cadet wanna be

Started by Cautious SM, January 24, 2008, 03:33:48 AM

Cautious SM

What is the proper way for me to get trained as a SM, I guess I would be a flight officer since I joined at age 18, right? I want to lean some of the cadet D&C, CPFT, things like that. Can I train with the cadets? I want to make sure I am doing things right. I know I will still need to do the SM stuff. But I have no military experience at all. How should everything be handled?

MIKE

You can still technically join as a cadet and be a participant, but if you join as an SM there is no turning back.  Otherwise start talking with your local squadrons Cadet Programs senior staff and start learning the program from that side of the coin.
Mike Johnston

LtCol Hooligan

If you have not technically joined yet and are sure you are comfortable reporting to a potentially younger cadet by all means, join as a cadet and go through the program as far as you can.  It is rare as many 18 year olds get a little nervous and self-conscious about reporting to younger cadets, but if you can hack it and work your way through the ranks, you will learn a lot.