CAPR 110-1, 27 Dec 12, CAP Electronic Systems and Data Administration

Started by kratclif, December 27, 2012, 09:54:37 PM

kratclif

Any IT folks read the new CAPR 110-1 yet? It was just posted today and I had a chance to skim it.

A few items of note:

There is now an Internet Operations restricted application in eServices. It's available to me as a unit IT officer; not sure what other duty positions get access. Apparently we're supposed to request approval for any internet operations (web sites, email, etc) using this application.

Of particular concern to me is that it requires the site Administrator username and password! As an IT Pro I hate password sharing; IMHO passwords should be kept secret for a number of reasons. If CAP NHQ requires a username/password for any system that I administer (I don't administer any CAP sites at the moment) they are getting their own username/password pair that will be only for their use (hopefully never).

And what exactly is meant by "Administrator password"? Root/system level access, or just access to the CAP resources on the server?

I wonder how this works when the ToS of a particular hosting server prevents sharing of credentials...

Am I overreacting to this?

Kevin
Maj Kevin Ratcliff, CAP

Eclipse

http://captalk.net/index.php?topic=16676.0

Yes, they want the root password.  There's nothing on a CAP website that should be super-secret or confidential.

The problem is that people build systems for units and activities, leave CAP, get bored, or sometimes quit in a huff, and take the
security info with them.  That or they build it on a machine under their desk and just turn it off.

This should help the former and discourage the latter, though it won't fix everything.

"That Others May Zoom"

kratclif

Quote from: Eclipse on December 27, 2012, 09:59:25 PM
http://captalk.net/index.php?topic=16676.0

Yes, they want the root password.  There's nothing on a CAP website that should be super-secret or confidential.