Flight size

Started by umpirecali, September 15, 2021, 03:30:56 AM

umpirecali

I am pretty new to cadet programs.  I have been doing mostly ES thus far.  I am looking for a guideline or manual which states when it is a good idea to go from 1 flight to 2.  We had 11 cadets remaining after resuming in-person meetings.  Now in a rebuilding time, the have about 13 with about 6 prospective members and more recruiting events planned.

I read through the drill and ceremonies manual and saw that "The flight is composed of at least two, but not more than four, elements."  I didn't find anything which said how many can be in an element, or on a more practical level how should you organize your flights.  All new cadets in one flight?  A mixture?

Thanks in advance and allow me to duck before you starting lobbing anything my way!

edit:
the make-up is
1- C/2dLt
1-C/CMSgt
1-C/SMS
1-C/TSgt
4-C/Sgt
6-8 Cadet basic-C/SrAmn
Capt Chris Cali, CAP
Deputy Commander
Deputy Commander for Cadets

arajca

Following recommended grade/duty assignment:
Flt/cc - C/2d lt
Flt/sgt - C/CMSgt
ELdr1 - C/SMSgt
ELdr2 - C/TSgt
ELdr3 - C/SSgt

Assign remaining C/SSgt one per element as asst. leader.
Assign remaining cadets to each element
   EL1 - 3
   EL2 - 3
   EL3 - 2

Just my thoughts on this issue.

coudano

From the glossary...

Element—The basic formation; that is, the smallest drill unit comprised of at least 3, but usually
8 to 12 individuals, one of whom is designated the element leader.

So minimum flight size...  7.
At least 2 elements, with at least 3 airmen each...  (plus a guide)(guide does not equal guidon bearer)

Maximum size, not defined...  but "usually 8-12"
So "usually" a maximum size would be 4 elements of 12 each (plus a guide)
or 49.

Not including Flight Sergeant, Flight Commander.

coudano

Quote from: umpirecali on September 15, 2021, 03:30:56 AMthe make-up is
1- C/2dLt
1-C/CMSgt
1-C/SMS
1-C/TSgt
4-C/Sgt
6-8 Cadet basic-C/SrAmn

In my opinion...   right now:
C/2dLt Flt/CC