Comm - How to talk with event organizers at Airshows

Started by noturusernamebutmine, May 05, 2009, 01:16:29 AM

noturusernamebutmine

Ok - so let me preface by saying I am new to CAP - I am also a amateur radio operator.

So here is my question - if participating at an airshow and a local amateur radio group (as usual) is acting as "net control" and directing radio traffic for the entire event and I cannot use my amateur privileges to communicate between them and CAP - How can I then communicate with the net control?  (They need to pass traffic about where assistance by CAP is needed) Has anyone found a good solution?  FRS? Air Frequencies?

I know that with the new draft of 100-1 I would be able to not participate as a CAP member and simply "Shadow" another CAP member who can then relay the message.  Until that is enacted how do I communicate with everyone else? 

Al Sayre

Assign a CAP MRO to the Communications Center with a CAP radio.
Lt Col Al Sayre
MS Wing Staff Dude
Admiral, Great Navy of the State of Nebraska
GRW #2787

JoeTomasone

Or the reverse: Have a ham hang out at the CAP ICP.

maverik

Doesn't 100-1 prohibit HAM use by CAP radios? If you had your own portable with a HAM band in there then there you go if you don't see if one of the HAM guys do.
KC9SFU
Fresh from the Mint C/LT
"Hard pressed on my right. My center is yielding. Impossible to maneuver. Situation excellent. I am attacking." Ferdinand Foch at the Battle of the Marne

arajca

100-1 prohibits use of ham freqs by CAP. It doesn't matter who owns the radio - CAP cannot use the freqs.

wuzafuzz

Quote from: SARADDICT on May 05, 2009, 12:11:36 PM
Doesn't 100-1 prohibit HAM use by CAP radios? If you had your own portable with a HAM band in there then there you go if you don't see if one of the HAM guys do.