Main Menu

Best steel for a knife?

Started by Eclipse, January 05, 2009, 03:09:59 AM

Eclipse

Just about any edge weapon or knife you buy from general sources these days is 440-stainless steel.

I recall from my days in the 80's and 90's, when I cared about such things, being told 440 was "junk" because it was "brittle and impossible to sharpen", and anything "decent" was high-carbon steel, with its need for more care from rust, etc.

I've carried this notion for a couple of decades, noting with disdain anything I pick up that's 440.

Opinions?

"That Others May Zoom"

mprokosch11

I've always been a huge fan of Buck Knives. The last one I bought had a 420 High Carbon blade. I love it, very easy to sharpen and it has held its edge well.

From what I heard any knife with only stainless steel in it holds its edge longer, but is a son of gun to sharpen.

Anything with carbon in it is generally more expensive and easier to sharpen.

Then again I'm no expert ;)
C/Capt Matthew A. Prokosch, CAP
New York Wing
Utica Cadet Squadron (NER-NY-162)

Trung Si Ma

I was issued an early one of these (http://sogknives.com/store/S1T.html) back in the early 70's and have carried it litterally everywhere since.  Good knife.  I think it is a high carbon steel, but the newer ones are someting else - what the hell type of metal is AUS8?
Freedom isn't free - I paid for it

IceNine

QuoteAUS-8: A Japanese made medium-carbon, high chromium stainless steel

QuoteAUS-8 sounds exotic, even if it's actualy a cheaper steel than 440C

Apparently it isn't much better than AF survival knives.  Very easily sharpened, very easily dulled.
"All of the true things that I am about to tell you are shameless lies"

Book of Bokonon
Chapter 4

SarDragon

Quote from: Trung Si Ma on January 05, 2009, 03:44:44 AM