Phasing out of Ultramarine Blue Flight Suit

Started by Stickman, January 15, 2007, 03:01:05 AM

Stickman

Hello, All - I'm a newbie, and this may have already been brought up for discussion, but does anyone else have strong feelings against the phasing out of the ultramarine blue flight suit? I, for one, ALWAYS wear it when flying, because it's the only color flight suit we have with a color that does not appear in nature. If I go down, I want to be highly visible, increasing the SAR team's percentages of a find - of my b**t!
If I were flying in combat, I'd certainly want a flight suit that would blend in and disappear in foliage (such as the green flight suit) or in shadow (such as the new DARK blue, almost black flight suit.) But since few of our missions are in combat areas, I want to be as highly visible as possible. The ultramarine blue is the best we have.
What do you think??

Eclipse

Yes. I have strong feelings - thank god its gone.

If you're that worried about being found after a crash, wear a retro vest when you fly.

"That Others May Zoom"

DNall

Most people hate it. Looks like glow in the dark gumby, but to each their own. If you crash, it's an extremely high, over 95% probability that one of three things will occur, you'll be dead, you'll be down in a populated area, or you'll be able to relay your GPS position before going in. We keep very good information on where our planes are during missions, and you should be taking advantage of flight following also. You shouldn't be lost very long. You should though wear nomex to protect againt fire hazard, and be prepared for weather survival situations. If you're concerned about ground vis, I'd recommend wearing the reversable flight jacket w/ the orange liner, and ensuring orange signal panels are in the on-board survival kit.

LtCol White

LtCol David P. White CAP   
HQ LAWG

Admiral, Great Navy of the State of Nebraska