Duty Performance Promotion Blues

Started by RNOfficer, November 13, 2010, 03:45:02 AM

RNOfficer

I would like to ask about anyone's experience with "Duty Performance Promotion".

I'm a Nurse Officer, a Major. I've got time-in-grade that makes me eligible for a Duty Performance Promotion to Lt Col.

This would be a promotion without completing the Paul E. Garber Award. In fact, because the Garber Award requires Master rating in a specialty and Nurse Officers have no rating, I'm not eligible for the Garber Award unless I develop another specialty and rise to Master.

I've been performing my duties in an exemplary manner (I think) which should make me eligible to Lt Col. However, I have heard, informally, that Duty Performance Promotions  are rarely granted because of resentment applying for the promotion without earning the Garber Award.

Anyone have any actual experience with this? Any Commanders willing to discuss it?

RiverAux

It looks like the reg would back you up on this although the citation that professional development isn't necessary for health services folks is in the professional appointment section rather than the duty performance section of 35-5. 

Personally, I think allowing such promotions without going through the PD program is a mistake, but CAP allows it. 

However, if I was a commander a health service person would have to REALLY be exemplary before I'd promote them to Lt. Col..  And the regs would give me the leeway to make that call.  I'd want to see them running group or wing level programs that would be the equivalent of Masters level work in one of the PD programs. 

cap235629

what is a "Nurse Officer". There is no such animal in CAP
Bill Hobbs, Major, CAP
Arkansas Certified Emergency Manager
Tabhair 'om póg, is Éireannach mé

tmurphy