Integrity in Honor Guard, etc??

Started by capchiro, April 02, 2009, 01:01:19 AM

capchiro

I have been told by a cadet that it is okay for cadet officers to wear cadet NCO rank while participating in Honor Guard.  (He may have also incuded Color Guard or Drill Team).  This seems contradictory to me when it comes to integrity.  Am I wrong?  Is this a common or recognized, or condoned, or standard practice?  Although I have many years in CAP, I have little experience in Honor Guard, Drill Teams, or Color Guard.  Is there a double standard for these cadets?  Am I out of line on this?  As usual, Thanks in Advance.
Lt. Col. Harry E. Siegrist III, CAP
Commander
Sweetwater Comp. Sqdn.
GA154

John Young

That's just silly.

That is a breach of integrity and regulation. Check out CAPR 52-16 2-4 part e. It forbades temporary or discretionary grades.

While cadet officers cannot compete in the National Color Guard Competition, nothing prohibits a cadet officer from participating in a non-competition color guard or honor guard. So, wearing NCO grade insignia isn't even necessary (integrity aside)
John Young, Maj, CAP

Nathan

Quote from: capchiro on April 02, 2009, 01:01:19 AM
I have been told by a cadet that it is okay for cadet officers to wear cadet NCO rank while participating in Honor Guard.  (He may have also incuded Color Guard or Drill Team).  This seems contradictory to me when it comes to integrity.  Am I wrong?  Is this a common or recognized, or condoned, or standard practice?  Although I have many years in CAP, I have little experience in Honor Guard, Drill Teams, or Color Guard.  Is there a double standard for these cadets?  Am I out of line on this?  As usual, Thanks in Advance.

I have never heard of this practice. I believe that in Color Guard, the teams are generally made up only of C/NCO's, but I was under the impression that anyone could fall into an Honor Guard.