24/72 hour pack

Started by hatentx, September 14, 2008, 02:17:22 AM

hatentx

I am going to be the new ES officer in my SQD.  I have little to no CAP experience with the ES stuff although the majority of it is either common knowledge or I am educated on it from my military job.  Now my question is what is liked or used for your packs.  I know the basics of what is needed but what is the preferred equipment.  I am hoping to just re use a lot of my military gear for cost reason but what else is good to have?

arajca

Start with the required stuff as listed in the Task Guide. Then add/subtract as needed for YOUR environment and comfort. As for extra stuff that is good to have, you should have a good idea from the military...

Just remember, you have to be able to carry it...

hatentx

Sure I know that my Aid bag will go with me along with a Camel back type bags to carry mystuff.  Causulty Blankets and the normal stuff.  I guess I was wondering what tyoe of equipment is liked/ prefered in the CAP community.  I am not worried about carrying it.  15 miles and 90 lbs ruck with M249 SAW not worried about weight or not being able to carry it all. 

I guess I am looking for:
Sleeping bags
Tents
Bags both 24 and 72
types of LBE if even used

RiverAux

Military surplus is still pretty much standard, but its basically up to you.  Some are switching to vests, but most I see are still wearing ALICE gear. 

CadetProgramGuy

Quote from: arajca on September 14, 2008, 02:34:25 AM
Start with the required stuff as listed in the Task Guide. Then add/subtract as needed for YOUR environment and comfort. As for extra stuff that is good to have, you should have a good idea from the military...

Just remember, you have to be able to carry it...

Emphasis mine