Communications specialty track

Started by NHQ-OS-126 Frank, August 24, 2008, 01:01:42 PM

NHQ-OS-126 Frank

Hello everybody,

I want to take the Communications specialty track technician rating. As I am a ham radio operator I also want to  do radio communications with the cadets in our unit.

But I find nowhere information about which material, forms and publications I need to study before taking the test......

When I go to e-services and select online test then I only get to the questions and the test itself but I get no information about the study material........

Does anyone know  which regs I need to study ??

Deputy commander
Aerospace Education Officer
NHQ-OS-126 Spangdahlem AB
Germany
www.facebook.com/capspangdahlem
LX1MG

fltopsguy

Start by reviewing CAPP 214, the Specialty Track Pamphlet for Communications Officer.

NHQ-OS-126 Frank

Deputy commander
Germany
LX1MG

MIKE

Specific to your situation.

Quote from: CAPR 35-4e. Transmitting radio frequencies will not be authorized. However, there is no objection to simulator training if the equipment and an instructor are available.

Edit: See also:

Quote from: CAPR 100-111-2. Use of Amateur Radio Service by CAP. The use of frequencies in the amateur radio service to conduct CAP business including SAR/DR operations is prohibited by law. CAP members with amateur radio licenses may only use CAP frequencies for CAP operations.
Mike Johnston

Eclipse

"That Others May Zoom"

NHQ-OS-126 Frank

Quote from: CAPR 35-4
e. Transmitting radio frequencies will not be authorized. However, there is no objection to simulator training if the equipment and an instructor are available.

I know that the frequencies are different over here but as I am a ham radio operator ( LX1MG) I can use my personal equipment and use the ham radio frequencies over here (144MHz-146MHz) to teach the cadets how to operate a radio............

Deputy commander
Germany
LX1MG

MIKE

I wouldn't even touch the HAM gear.  See above edit.